The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Shawna Deeves Is this you?

Filter Reviews

20 Ratings • 13 Comments

3.8
  • 13
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
7.5 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Shawna Deeves?

Showing 12 of 20 Ratings

Awful experience

Posted on November 8th, 2017

Extremely cold. Told me my medication was making it worse. Continuously pointed out negatives and left me feeling hopeless and suicidal.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

First visit, last visit

Posted on October 21st, 2017

I was seeking help for panic/anxiety. Dr. Deeves did not show any interest in discussing anything other than going through a checklist of possible reasons to prescribe anti anxiety medication. She is very unwelcoming and detached. She is very soft spoken so it was my task to listen very closely. Several times I had to ask her to repeat the question. I was very nervous going in, hoping for some feeling of security. I left feeling more anxious than when I got there. I will be looking for another physician.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Recommend

Posted on August 23rd, 2017

Dr.Deeves has treated me for several problems in the last year. She is always prompt, empathetic, kind and compassionate. I would recommend her and AMHG to anyon seeking mental health treatment..

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Incompetent or malicious

Posted on January 6th, 2017

Prescribed SSRIs without taking patient off a previously prescribed SSRI, danger of serotonin toxicity had someone not caught this error was extremely high. Somewhat difficult to speak to, but tried to evaluate doctor based solely on treatment. Frequently changed medications without remaining on therapeutic dose long enough to see if the drugs were actually having an effect. Refused to return calls regarding a refill of a medication that patient was working up to therapeutic dose. Abruptly changed medications without reaching therapeutic dose stating noncompliance with titration, despite patient making it clear that no doses were missed. Prescribed medication that had serious side effects despite other options being available that had minimal or no side effects that had not been tested. Has suffered disciplinary action in the past, included a suspension of practice due to concerns for her patients well-being.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

PSYCH DR. DEEVES SUSPENDED

Posted on July 12th, 2016

I'd never recommend Dr. D to any of my loved ones. Chose 1 star - no other choice. Other wise, she would have zero stars. 1st experience is & will be my last. I ended up leaving her office feeling worse. I felt a sense of annoyance & irritability from her. Felt like I was interrupting her lunch time. I told her all of my past experience w/ doctors & my diagnostics. She handed me a card to a rehab facility & told me if I felt suicidal again call them & "good luck." SHE SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO SEE PATIENTS. PERIOD.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 18th, 2016

The doctor is very easy to talk to. She is extremely intelligent and knowledgable!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

huge disappointment

Posted on December 12th, 2013

a complete disaster

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Seeing Dr.Deeves

Posted on March 22nd, 2011

A good friend of mine has been seeing Dr.Deeves for several years. She recommended I see her for the problems I have been having. I did not think anyone would understand everything I have been through, but Dr.Deeves did understand. She has been an incredible source of support for me. She is very kind and easy to talk too. She is also very up to date clinically on all the latest research. I highly recommend her to my friends and family.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very Professional and Caring

Posted on February 14th, 2011

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

-Happy Patient

Posted on February 3rd, 2011

I have been seeing Dr.Deeves for close to 2 years. She has helped me tremendously. She is the only psychiatrist that could get my medications right. I feel like a new person seen I've been seeing her. She has an excellent bedside manner and I would highl recommend her to anyone looking for a good psychiatrist.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 9th, 2010

Overall experience was excellent.Staff were very friendly. Short wait time.Doctor very kind and understanding. Seemed very up to date on clinical treatments in the field.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Happy Patient

Posted on December 9th, 2009

excellent care, great staff very satisfied. Will continue to see her. Great care.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Shawna Deeves is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.