The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephanie Skow Is this you?

Filter Reviews

41 Ratings • 7 Comments

4.3
  • 31
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
7.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephanie Skow?

Showing 12 of 41 Ratings

One of the Best ~

Posted on December 28th, 2014

Dr Skow is a very astute analyst, she is compassionate and thoughtful and the most patient listener you could want. She prescribed me the medications I needed and they were very suitable. I would recommend her wholeheartedly to anyone without hesitation. She is that good!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Exceptional

Posted on March 27th, 2014

Dr. Stephanie Skow accurately and skillfully diagnosed my condition of chronic combat related PTSD and assigned a methodolgy of treatment that turned my life around after I returned from Iraq in 2009. With her excellent guidance, behavioural therapy techniques and in-depth counseling I was able to confront and cope with the darkness that is PTSD. Dr. Skow is a well-respected and knowledgeable professional in her chosen field of Psychiatry not only throughout the Hawaiin Islands, but also on the mainland, having studied and practiced in the states of both New York and Nevada. She is a consumate professional is every aspect and I would readily recommend her services to any and all.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on March 12th, 2014

I could not have survived the death of my husband of 43 years or the onset of so many symptoms of my bi polar disorder while adjusting to life with my son after 43 years of married life. Probate is one thing, lawyers & loosing a house in foreclosure awful--without Dr Skow I just plain would not be functioning well in my world of 2014. When I've needed meds she has carefully adjusted to fit. I admire her caring and candor-but most of all her sense of what's right along with a wry wit.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Highly Recommend

Posted on March 11th, 2014

Seeing Dr. Skow is like catching up with a friend. She is eager to hear about my life and relationships; my exciting news and my challenges, and my sorrows and joy. I feel like she is happy to see me and I leave feeling supported, emotionally and medically. She knows her meds and is tech savvy enough to quickly research the entire body of psychiatric knowledge. After being a patient of Dr. Skow for some time I left the island for two years. Dr. Skow and her office remained supportive the entire time and accepted me back as a patient when I returned without question. As a side note, Dr. Skow's office is beautiful and comfortable. If you have to be in the doctor's office, it's about as good as it gets.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

My first thoughts on Dr. Skow..

Posted on August 13th, 2013

I think Dr. Skow is a good doctor.. Not the most "warm, emotionally based" person to talk to. She isn't the best listener. I have only been seeing her for a year, and I guess she wants to disregard all of my past Doctor/Therapists notes on me.. which is odd considering I have Bi-polar disorder.. I think she could really help more, by actually listening and understanding then making sure she's not going to get in trouble with writing me a prescription for a different date.. Also.. I'm not sure how long she has been prescribing prescription meds.. but she doesn't really seem to have a grasp of knowledge on a lot of medications I am on.. Which is kind of an uneasy feeling. I think she could really be one of the best Psychs. I have ever seen if she would actually take the time to listen/ get to know me. Hopefully when time goes on things will change. Kauai is a small island with not a lot of doctors to choose from.. I'm writing this review to not only help you decide if you want to be her patient but, hopefully help her see how she can better herself..

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Amazing human being!

Posted on December 31st, 2011

Best psychiatrist I've ever been to! And I've been to a few...

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Compassionate and caring

Posted on October 29th, 2010

Comfortable and soothing environment, I have recommended her to friends.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 14th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on August 11th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on August 5th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 19th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 12th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephanie Skow is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lihue, HI.