The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Chatelain Is this you?

Filter Reviews

25 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.9
  • 17
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
24 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Chatelain?

Showing 12 of 25 Ratings

Rude and Inconsiderate

Posted on October 26th, 2016

I have never been treated so terrible by a professional in my life. I am an overweight African-American female. He asked how much I weighed in my prior pregnancy and proceeded to tell me that I had done myself no justice since then. He then asked me if I could hold my stomach up because it was difficult for him to do his job. There is a way to say anything and I won't be going back there.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very knowledgeable and comforting

Posted on May 14th, 2014

While we had to wait 1 1/2 hours past our appointment time to be seen, we were very pleased with our experience with Dr. Chatelain. He was very knowledgeable and answered any questions that we had. He has a lot of experience so he really knows what he is talking about. Will definitely go back to him if I need to.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 20th, 2011

I was sent straight to Dr. Chatelain's office after an ultrasound. I went right back and he immediately knew what the problem was. He continued to see me regularly until I had no choice but to deliver. I delivered at 28 weeks, and now I have a healthy baby girl who recently turned 5. Thanks to Dr. Chatelain! He is great, and very caring. He knows what he is doing...even though he did go to LSU. haha

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

he saved my babies life

Posted on May 6th, 2011

i was i high risk pregancy... dr. stephen took me as a patient in a split minute i was rushed from mnt. view ar to little rock and he took care of me for a week....

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I've waited a while to say this...

Posted on September 9th, 2010

At the time I saw Dr. Chatelain we were already pretty sure that the baby wasn't going to make it. There were a few tests that still needed to be done, but it was pretty clear we had an unfortunate situation on our hands. I don't know if it was because I was a Medicaid patient. I'm not sure if it was because we were an interracial couple (you wouldn't believe the types of people who "accidentally" let their colors show). I'm not playing the race card, but I am a black woman who dated a white man for 7 yrs. I know a disgusted look when I see 1. He always seemed impatient with me. He did an amnio & I told him I did not like needles & to please be patient with me. When I tensed up, he firmly an rudely said "If you would just keep still we can get this done a lot faster." After I had given birth to, and an hour later, lost my precious son & it was timed to be discharged & prescribed pain medication for the c-section, he said vicoden. I told him I'd been prescribed that before and I'd like to have something non-narcotic b/c it upset my stomach and made me feel funny. He told me "Well since you are the doctor with the M.D. I'm gonna prescibe you- vicoden." What?! Two days later the top half of my body was covered in hives & I had to see my family doctor the same day I buried my son to be prescribed something I wasn't ALLERGIC TO! I see all these great reviews for Dr. Chatelain but I wonder who this doctor is. Because every encounter I had with him was awful. I've waited 3 yrs to make sure I wasn't biased b/c of my situation. I get so upset everytime I see him on a "Happy Birthday Baby" commercial. I kind of hope that I was the only patient he treated this way...

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on January 19th, 2010

TERRIBLE. That's all I can say. My doctor sent me to him to have a test that he REFUSED to perform, saying that it was too risky. Well, this test could have prevented my son being 9 WEEKS premature. He is now a healthy and happy four year old, thanks to an angel of a doctor in Springfield, MO. I am now pregnant with my second child and will absolutely go out of my way to make sure that this man comes no where near me.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Emergency High Risk Preg

Posted on October 31st, 2009

I met Dr. Chatelain when I was transported to the Baptist Hospital in Little Rock. He was up front and honest with me and my husband and didn't try to candy coat anything. He said, I am 100% positive you will leave here not pregnant, I am 100% positive you will not leave here with your baby, due to her being in the NICU. He was actually there to console me. His bed side manner was amazing!! We have told anyone and everyone we can about Dr. Chatelain. He is the greatest doctor I have ever had the pleasure of being a patient of. Thank you so much for taking care of me and my Lilly Grace. I am proud to say she is a gorgeous and growing 19 month old!!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

delivered my son

Posted on August 9th, 2009

Dr Chatelain delivered my son 4 years ago. He was 3 pounds 13 ounces when he was born. He was born at 36 weeks. Dr Chatelain is a very good doctor. He even stopped us in the elevator after I have my son, we were on our way to the NICU. He asked how I was doing and how the baby was doing. My son is now a healthy 4 year old who starts school next August. I would recommend Dr. Chatelain to anyone he is a great Doctor.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on May 4th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on August 24th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on July 22nd, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 18th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Chatelain is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Little Rock, AR.