The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Firshein Is this you?

Filter Reviews

23 Ratings • 11 Comments

3.2
  • 10
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Firshein?

Showing 12 of 23 Ratings

Inaccurate Diagnosis

Posted on July 6th, 2016

Dr. Firshein's bedside manner was just ok, but the worst issue was he very poor attention and eventual diagnosis. After pointing out a problem for two years, a growth that was continuing to increase significantly in size he kept pointing out that it was "just a fluid build up" and "nothing to worry about". Turned out he was extremely inaccurate, turned out to be a large Liposarcoma tumor. He doesn't listen to his patients issues and he should have helped me much sooner. Would definitely not recommend him and have found another doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

INAPPROPRIATE TOUCHING

Posted on February 25th, 2016

I AM A FEMALE IN MY 30'S. I WAS ASKED TO GO TO THE PRACTICE AS A RESULT OF A LOW WBC FROM MY PRIMARY. IN OUR "EXAM" THE DOCTOR ASKED ME TO LAY BACK. HE FELT AROUND MY STOMACH AND BRUSHED UP AGAINST MY BOOB THEN. THEN AGAIN AS HE WAS BRINGING HIS HANDS DOWN FROM EACH SIDE OF MY NECK. HE ACKNOWLEDGED IT AND APOLOGIZED THE 2ND TIME, BUT WHAT DOCTOR DOESN'T KNOW WHAT THEY'RE DOING AND FUMBLES WHEN GIVING AN EXAM? YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED IF YOU'RE A WOMAN AND YOU DECIDE TO GO TO THAT DOCTOR. THE PRACTICE, THE OFFICE, THE STAFF HAD THIS SULLEN GREY FEEL. IT WAS AN AWKWARD, CREEPY FEEL ALL AROUND. I'M GLAD I NEVER HAVE TO GO BACK. IF I HAD SOMETHING TO PROPERLY REPORT HIM ON I WOULD, BUT YOU JUST KNOW WHEN SOMEONE IS A CREEP. IN ADDITION, HIS BEDSIDE MANNER WAS HORRIBLE. HE TOLD ME THAT LOW WBC WAS TYPICAL OF MY RACE AND I SHOULDN'T WORRY ABOUT IT. A 2ND OPINION IS NOW GOING TO BE NECESSARY, JUST TO MAKE SURE.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 22nd, 2015

helped my wife thru 2 bouts of cancer.very grateful for his help and knowledge.thank God.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Hematology At It's Best!!

Posted on October 16th, 2015

The Wethersfield staff made this appointment so easy! They were very friendly and willing to help in any way... The Clinical Partners Lab was excellent in taking blood which was effortless, since I usually have difficulty giving blood. Dr. Firschein is a very caring and understanding person who takes the time to listen and answer all the questions you may have... his knowledge and expertise in the field of Hemotology puts you at ease and in the Best hands possible to monitor your progress. He also has a great sense of humor and makes you feel relaxed during an exam.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Dr

Posted on March 3rd, 2015

Very nice man. Feel like I have his undivided attention throughout the appointment. Am able to ask all the questions I need to without feeling rushed or burdensome. Had a procedure outside his office recently and needed approval from. He/his office answered right away. Only complaint is the wait.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 12th, 2014

I had a terrible experience with Dr. Firshein. He was incredibly rude to my husband and I. I agree with the other review, in that he belongs in a laboratory rather than with patients. He lacks compassion and is very abrasive. I would never recommend him after what we've been through.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Find another doctor!

Posted on May 13th, 2013

If you would like to see a doctor who talks more about himself than showing concern for his patient than this is the doctor for you. Had my physical 2 months ago and can't get either the doctor or office to return any of my phone calls to let me know my test results. Unacceptable

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Poor Bedside Manor, and Uncompassionate

Posted on March 23rd, 2013

Although Dr. Firshein may be educated, that does not mean he should be seeing patients. He is not forthcoming on information and when presenting diagnosis, does so in a "hit and run" manor. He should stick to research so that he doesn't have to deal with people. If it were just my experience I could say that maybe I am not looking at this in the correct light, however my family has had the same experiences where he has a dogmatic attitude, doesn't care about the patient and has absolutely no compassion. I hope this review will save someone the anger and pain that I and my family have experienced with this individual.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 17th, 2012

He did not answer questions I had after the diagnosis was given. In fact the diagnosis ended up being incorrect! I ended up going to another doctor who did answer my questions and also accurately diagnosed me. Waste of time, time that could have gone towards my treatment.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 23rd, 2011

Outstanding doctor with great bedside manner who takes the time to understand how you are feeling.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on March 26th, 2011

Dr Firshein is smart and conservative. His real interst is hematology so he can come up short in some areas of internal medicine/primary care such as muscular skeletal issues. He does listen and will make referrals if you persist about you concerns.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on August 10th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Firshein is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Wethersfield, CT.