The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Stephen Smiles Is this you?

Filter Reviews

24 Ratings • 10 Comments

4.2
  • 16
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
13.8 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Stephen Smiles?

Showing 12 of 24 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on April 24th, 2017

Dr. Smiles is a kind, funny, and very personable doctor. He is a real menche, not the kind of doctor who makes you feel as if you have entered the kingdom of the Grand Physician of Rheumatology. This, of course, cannot hide his profound intelligence and driving interest in determining what ails you and how he can help you heal.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Super Smart

Posted on February 9th, 2017

Very smart, takes time, responds to cell phone, so always know will be taken care of by both his responsiveness and his brains and thoughtfullness

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

not in touch

Posted on December 22nd, 2016

When he approached me as I was waiting for a first appointment, he asked if I was here to see Dr. Smiles. I said yes,and he walked away, leading me to think he was someone else. Later, he asked me to put my hand on my hip. When I did, he made fun of me for not putting the hand at the point where the hip joint is.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very knowledgeable and personable

Posted on September 9th, 2016

Very capable. NYU is fantastic. a well-oiled machine.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 7th, 2015

Dr Smiles is dedicated to his patients and very observant. He noted a condition I was unaware of and directed me to the appropriate doctor. He is a very kind man and explains things in a manner I can understand. Dr Smiles has been my doctor since 1979.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent doctor and staff at NYU Langone

Posted on August 4th, 2015

Doctor Smiles is a fantastic doctor. He went out of the way to diagnose my situation. He waited till we got X-rays done and read the results then and there. He took his time in explaining all the situations i can be having and the reasons he thought so with the reason as to why i am not suffering with those. He read the MRI and X rays to us explaining the details there in very thoroughly. He did not prescribe any unnecessary tests and medicines. He filled out a form for my employer taking his time and detailing. He is an excellent doctor with good manners and great sense of humour. The staff at NYU Langone is fantastic. They all make you smile and forget the hospital anxiety!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on April 27th, 2015

Dr. Smiles is so compassionate and he always puts me at ease. Dr. Smiles really cares for his patients. I consider myself extremely fortunate to have been able to be treated by him for RA. He is thorough, takes all the time I need, considerate of feelings and really listens. He exudes intelligence. My family would have me go to no other Doctor for my condition, nor would I want to change.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 2nd, 2015

Strange guy who made no sense while he rambled on and on with analogies to explain a medical condition or lab result. Nobody would understand him, not a lay person not a medical professional ( which I am) . I went back to him a couple times partially because I felt sorry for him and his attempts to be liked. Then he got kind of short w me. And I moved on. I need a smart coherent mecally reasonable doctor. Not my job to make him feel better. His own staff makes faces behind his back.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Couldn't agree with the other reviewer

Posted on March 5th, 2013

After I saw Dr. Smiles, I felt as if he was really talking down to me. He also became tangential at times and forgot why he was saying certain things. I decided to see a younger doctor with a better bedside manner.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

lots of waiting

Posted on July 27th, 2012

Dr. S is a multi-tasker, and that means you wait a while to see him once in his office or exam room. He also has an odd "bedside manner": friendly but speaks of irrelevant things, and is a bit condescending .

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 7th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Stephen Smiles is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.