The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Steven Small Is this you?

Filter Reviews

56 Ratings • 9 Comments

4.3
  • 40
  • 2
  • 6
  • 2
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Steven Small?

Showing 12 of 56 Ratings

Excellent surgeon, communicates , good guy

Posted on December 16th, 2016

Highly recommend.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 10th, 2016

DR. SMALL IS VERY PLEASANT, PERSONABLE, AND TAKES THE TIME TO FULLY EXPLAIN THE DIAGNOSIS, TREATMENT OPTIONS, AND ANSWER QUESTIONS. HE HAS COMPASSION AND A SENSE OF HUMOR :)

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Exceptional doctor!

Posted on February 7th, 2014

I had the misfortune of breaking an ankle a year for the last 2 years. Dr, Small was a pleasure to work with and both treatments were huge sucesses. I highly recommend Dr Steven Small for an and all orthopedic services. I hope that I don't break any more bones.... but if I do, Dr Steven Small would be my first choice... I only hope they accept my new insurance from Magna care..........

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

His nurse is very unpleasant

Posted on August 22nd, 2012

The doctor seems knowledgeable and explains things well. However, his nurse is very unpleasant and doesn't return (multiple) phone calls or written requests for information. I had a verbal disagreement with her at one visit, and two of the people who accompanied me to office visits either wanted to complain about her to someone in charge or suggested that I do so.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Saved me from surgery

Posted on August 9th, 2011

Dr. Small was able to set my multiple ankle fracture in a way that enabled me to heal without having to go for surgery. For this, I am very grateful.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not A Good Experience

Posted on May 9th, 2011

Getting my first appointment was quickly arranged. The nurse said they would "squeeze me in". After a 2 1/2 hours in the waiting room (and I wasn't the only one waiting that long)I was directed to get an x-ray. After that I was directed to an examining room. The dr. consulted a bit with me and said I needed an MRI. He asked if I needed an open MRI and I said yes because I am extremely claustrophobic. I was given an appointment at a facility that did not provide open MRI. I called the office an arranged for an open MRI that same day. The MRI showed 2 meniscus tears. When I returned to Dr Small, he didn't mention there was more than 1 tear. He was in no hurry to do the procedure. He actually told me he was "laid back" about these things. He told me to come back when I was mentally ready. I asked if my knee would get better. He said no. So I said what is the point in waiting? I don't want to keep hobbling around... Then he laughed and said he likes to see people - women - suffer. I told him he wasn't "laid back" but sadistic! Then he said well if you want me to schedule you I can do that right now! (Don't do me any favors!) When I told him of the MRI experience I had and my claustrophobia he told me I needed to go for therapy!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Al

Posted on November 16th, 2010

Dr. Small is an extremely competent surgeon who will listen to his patient carefully, and offer alternatives to surgery. A real "good guy".

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not Satisfied

Posted on May 17th, 2010

Horrible experience. Looking for new doctor.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Doctor

Posted on April 5th, 2010

I have not heard anything about multiple lawsuits against Dr. Small and he has been my doctor for many years. He has always treated me with the utmost care and respect. Dr. Small is a dedicated physician who genuinely cares about his patients. This is not just my opinion but the opinion of many others he has treated as well. His nurse is also extremely caring and competent and is dedicated to helping Dr. Small's patients with any medical problems or paperwork problems they may encounter.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 28th, 2017

One Star

Posted on October 3rd, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on March 25th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Steven Small is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Cortlandt Manor, NY.