ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Susan Hunter-Joerns Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 5 Comments

4.6
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12.5 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Susan Hunter-Joerns?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

Brilliant and Compassionate

Posted on November 6th, 2017

Dr. Hunter-Joerns stays informed and educated regarding the best practices in medicine and she stays abreast regarding the latest in treatment breakthroughs across many specialties. I have received the best care from her over the past twenty plus years as a patient of hers. She is second to none and I would not trade her for the world!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very patient centered practitioner

Posted on October 30th, 2017

Dr. H-J takes the time to listen, ask questions, and understand variations in health from one appointment to the next. She explains things clearly in a warm manner, and gives thoughtful instructions. She is excellent to work with.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Amazing woman, she'll give you the care you need and the extra thought and interest you deserve.

Posted on September 2nd, 2015

This physician is wonderful! She is, however, the only neurologist in a 600mi radius so new patient appointments do require a referral from a local primary care physician. If you're new to town, you'll need to set up with a primary care doc first, and then have them refer you. This was slightly frustrating to me as I'd come prepared with a referral by my former neurologist, BUT THE GOOD THING is that her staff still worked to squeeze me in so I didn't run out of meds. Given the area she covers, it's totally understandable - and IMO commendable - that she requires her patients to be set up in town first so she can ensure her patients are always taken care of no matter what. She listened very carefully to me, was thoughtful, and very helpful in explaining things, as well as offering alternatives when I wanted them. I've got MS (and migraines) so I've seen neurologists for years. Dr Susan Hunter Joerns stands out as one of the best! I'm very thankful to have her as my doc.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Hard to reach

Posted on June 17th, 2010

Dr. Hunter-Joerns is a great person and is very caring, but the difficultly in actually getting to speak with someone and receive a call back is frustrating. Also, she does not bill insurance and sometimes the cost of a visit is $120-$200 or more. This can be a financial hardship at times.

Doctor's Response

Thank you for your kind words, we are working hard to improve and streamline our known deficiencies. You've touched on two of them: Insurance and call backs. I'm pleased to let you know that Dr. Hunter-Joerns now bills all of the major insurance compaines. And we continue to try and find a better balence between the size of the office and the demand for her servics. Which will eventually resolve any current call back issues.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Doesn't answer phone or return calls

Posted on May 27th, 2010

I can only speak to the apparent impossibility of actually getting an appointment with this doctor. I've been calling all week and only get a recording. I leave a message and no one calls back.

Doctor's Response

We're sorry that you had a tough time getting through to us. Being a very small operation and because Dr. Hunter-Joerns is the only neurologist in SE-AK sometimes call backs can suffer. Dr. Hunter-Joerns has always only seen patients on a referral basis, again because she is the only neurologist for 500 miles we can't just open the doors wide open.

Easy Appointment
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 29th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on August 22nd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on July 10th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 6th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on June 30th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on February 9th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on November 17th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Susan Hunter-Joerns is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Juneau, AK.