The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Tewfik Rizk Is this you?

Filter Reviews

23 Ratings • 10 Comments

3.6
  • 12
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Promptness
Wait Time
16.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Tewfik Rizk?

Showing 12 of 23 Ratings

Totally incompetent

Posted on October 18th, 2016

I went to this doctor he did not do any physical exam on me. He does not listen to anything you have to say he spent a total of 10 minutes with me then prescribed me a medication without asking about any other medications I was taking. I went home took the meds and had a bad reaction where I was temporarily blind for a couple of hours, needless to say I flushed the meds and never returned to see this doctor.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best

Posted on October 9th, 2016

Kind. He listened. He explained. Old school. The best doctor I've ran across in over 50 years

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Rizk is not a rheumatologist.

Posted on March 19th, 2016

Dr. Rizk is very nice. However, he is not a board certified rheumatologist as I was led to believe. Dr. Rizk was unable to diagnosis me with ankylosing spondylitis for several years although he supposedly treats the disease. My visits consisted of a visit to discuss my symptoms and health concerns. He would give me an order to go somewhere else to get labs and x-rays completed due to not having the ability to havet it done in his office. I had to wait for the labs and x-rays to come back before I could even schedule a follow-up appointment. I even had to go pick up the results to expedite seeing Dr. Rizk quicker. After the results where obtained I would return to the office to receive inaccurate information regarding my illness. Dr. Rizk prescribed me several medicines that did not help me at all. My disease continued to progress. The cycle of going to different places for labs, picking the results up for Dr. Rizk, waiting for an appointment continued until the office finally got a fax machine. I became depressed due to not being able to find out what was wrong with me. My eye doctor referred me to another rheumatologist that she knew was excellent. I received an accurate diagnosis and began treatment immediately. I went to a second rheumatologist after my insurance changed. This rheumatologist confirmed my diagnosis and continued my same treatment. I was informed by this rheumatologist (which is my current rheumatologist) that Dr. Rizk is not a rheumatologist. My rheumatologist informed me that the medicines prescribed by Dr. Rizk did not help me, because they were not treatments for my disease. Therefore, I researched his credentials for myself. I found out the Dr. Rizk is board certified in physical medicine and rehabilitation and not rheumatology. All of my lab work and x-rays were conveniently done in both in these rheumatologists offices. My quality of life has improved dramatically since I have been seeing rheumatologist who are actually board certified in rheumatology. I am so glad I stopped going to Dr. Rizk. As I stated, Dr. Rizk is nice, but niceness did not help my health care needs.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Good guy and good dr

Posted on October 21st, 2015

Dr Rizk is old school, but he is honest anddoes his job to the best of his ability. He will tell you what he is thinking and help you if he can. His office is old, but its little to pay for an honest down to earth man. He is from Egypt I think. Nice guy. Good dr

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 8th, 2015

I didnt like the fact that he sent me for xrays and when i return them to him he said hd couldnt read them bscause he disnt have a computer...i never went back...

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very Good doctor

Posted on September 15th, 2013

He took time with me. He reviewed my case file (all 3 years of it), we talked about my condition and came up with a long term treatment plan. He is a very good doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Good Experience

Posted on August 15th, 2013

After reading the previous review, I hesitated to go to Dr. Rizk. But, he accepted new Medicare patients so I went. He was very pleasant, did a thorough exam, and gave me good advice as how to proceed. He listened to my complaints and answered all my questions. I would recommend him to anyone who has joint pain.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 24th, 2012

Incredibly, this doctor is the director of the rehab hospital at The Med. I say "incredibly" because judging by my experience and that voiced by some of my fellow patients while "incarcerated" there, this man is at best unconcerned and in my opinion downright dangerous. I cannot speak for his office practice, but if he's as incompetent there as he is in his role as inpatient rehab director, I urge patients to stay away! (In response to the other commenter, if this is the "best rheumatologist in Memphis," heaven help us all!) I saw him for a total of about 3 minutes on exactly 3 of the 8 days I was there. Other days I saw no doctor at all. He wasn't familiar with my case and didn't seem interested in familiarizing himself with me or my case, never did any sort of physical exam, the staff kept mixing up my medications, the "therapy" is for the most part a joke (with a few exceptions), and then he tried to keep me there three weeks past the time I was ready and able to be discharged. I can only conclude it was to soak my insurance company for more money. When told by a nurse that I could schedule a follow-up appointment with him after I was discharged I declined. She smiled and said, "I understand." Even the staff realizes he's incompetent! Seriously, I think a hospital with the reputation of The Med could do better than this! This doctor is a blight on your reputation.

Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 5th, 2012

The best Rheumatologist in Memphis!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on April 24th, 2010

Best doctor I've ever had. He is the nicest and most intelligent healthcare professional out there. I look forward to my appointments with him!

Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on April 19th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on January 29th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Tewfik Rizk is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Memphis, TN.