The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Barbour III Is this you?

Filter Reviews

43 Ratings • 14 Comments

4.2
  • 30
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Barbour III?

Showing 12 of 43 Ratings

Best of the Best

Posted on December 8th, 2017

Not only is Dr. Barbour the best at what he does, he is always there you when need him, and explains your injury/treatment in a way you can deal with it in your every day routine. You will find none better than Dr. Barbour! Don't waste your time looking. His nurse, Rebecca, is highly trained and always very helpful.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible bed side manner

Posted on November 9th, 2017

Supposedly a sports medicine doctor. Do NOT take your child to him. His professional opinion for my 13 yr old athletic son, after 9 months of being out of ALL sports, was to stay out another year and quit all throwing sports. He thought my son was a pitcher, which he's not. Very berating, argumentative, unprofessional and a severe cause of GOD-complex.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Barbour and staff excellent

Posted on October 24th, 2017

Dr Barbour and all of his staff were extremely caring and professional. Their facility is top notch and I recommend them highly!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent pre and post op explanations

Posted on October 6th, 2017

The Ortho Group staff was very helpful on making sure that I understood the procedure. Dr. Barbour had fully explained what the procedure accomplished, but the pre op staff went into detail and answered all my concerns. In post op the staff was very considerate and unrushed. Dr. Barbour met with me after the operation and assured me that all went well and emphasized what I had to do to facilitate a smooth recovery.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 13th, 2017

Competent, friendly, and expeditious!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Hand Surgery

Posted on July 14th, 2017

Dr Barbour was very thorough and professional and explained the need for the procedure and how it would be performed. I have been very pleased with the results.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

. Great service

Posted on June 20th, 2017

Dr. Barbour and staff did an seen on and were very attentive

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 28th, 2017

Very good Dr to deal with highly recommended

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great doctor!

Posted on March 15th, 2017

Very impressed with Dr. Barbour. Really appreciate his skill and knowledge. Highly recommend him.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2nd time around

Posted on February 2nd, 2017

this is the second time I have had Dr.Barbour as my surgeon, once in 1991,second time this last month, he is straight to the point, get's done what has to be done, and follow his orders. Or he will let you know, nice guy, but don't expect a lot of conversation other than your condition. I gave Dr. Barbour a 4 star on bedside manner, just because he will tell you what the condition is, prognosis,solution,and done .

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Sad Representative of a Professional

Posted on September 23rd, 2015

He is the worst doctor I have ever come across. He doesn't answer your questions, doesn't explain anything and will not entertain alternatives. All he wants to do is surgery. I left the office in tears dues to his degrading, belittling and condescending attitude. He should be removed from this group as he is giving The Orthopaedic Group a bad name. Poor, poor people skills. I guess money is the only motivating factor as to why he practices because it isn't his love of helping people and making a difference in their lives.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 14th, 2015

This doctor recommended surgery then refused to submit proper paperwork to my insurance and refused to speak to me or the insurance company. He barely speaks to you during appointment and has zero personality.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Barbour III is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Mobile, AL.