The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Burnstine Is this you?

Filter Reviews

23 Ratings • 15 Comments

3.2
  • 9
  • 2
  • 3
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Burnstine?

Showing 12 of 23 Ratings

STAY AWAY

Posted on July 28th, 2017

DR. Burnstine was the worst Dr I have ever seen in my life. He put me on a met pack..tried to get in touch with him for two days due to having allergic reactuon..he finally calls me back and tells me I'm not a patient of hus!! Awful! I wouldn't go to him if he was free!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on December 22nd, 2015

I was a patient in Condell feeling like I had had another TIA but it was dismissed. Unknown to me Dr. Bernstein scheduled a c.f. scan for that night and a mri for the following day. He was very engaging explaining that the symptoms I had at home and on the way to the hospital sounded like Ischemic stroke. I agreed. I will be making a follow up appointment tomorrow.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 20th, 2015

When he came to my room to examine me, he ddi a strange thing. I have worked in the medical field for more than 32 years and have a pretty good idea about procedures. He set his medical bag down and withdrew some medical instruments. He presented two small mallets and a stethoscope. To check my reflexes he used the triangular mallet and taped ONCE on each knee and each elbow. I was under the impression that this was done to check reflexes. My legs were outstretched on the bed and not in a position that could successfully check reflex. It seemed to be just going through the motions to show that he was doing something?

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

15 years with M.D.

Posted on February 10th, 2015

What can I say? First, most of the reviews are dead-on: PERIOD. Some may have a knee-jerk reaction to his bedside mannerisms and be quick to call him arrogant. I would say these individuals are the type whom hold up traffic via cell phone use. He is very soft-spoken, listens diligently, and treats me with compassion (in his own way). By no means is this extraordinary Doctor arrogant or rude (just to clear that up). He is not one to chit-chat or warm and fuzzy etc. He is however, literally, the best of the best. He has worked with me for years upon years to find the right balance of medicine and is so knowledgeable it is scary. Off the top of his head he can catch a Rx issue and if not he will check right then a there. He is willing to work with me with e.g. sometimes stupid questions I formulate from information found on the internet. If your are broken he will fix you if it can be done to cut to the chase. I owe the last 15 years to him. His staff Christy and Tina are the best as well. Thank you all.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

great medical detective

Posted on January 2nd, 2014

I owe a lot to Dr. Burnstine. I have a rare medical condition called CIDP. Data shows that only one out of 100,000 people develop this condition. Dr. Burnstine was able to diagnose and prescribe the right treatment. He had to work with my primary Dr. and communicate with him on how and where to treat me, In addition, when it appeared that I was having an allergic reaction to the treatment, he immediately sent me to an allergist to figure out how to give me the treatment without an allergic reaction. Dr. Burnstine has always had a decent bedside manner when treating me. I am also being treated for depression. When I was having some serious psychiatric problems with my daughter, he gave me some good advice and suggestions on what to do -though my daughter was not a patient. Dr. Burnstine is not a warm and fuzzy type of Dr,. but he is not a cold fish either. His greatest goal is to diagnose and treat your condition. He really is like the typical genius-not a great people person but if you want medical answers see him. I like to say Dr. Burnstine is the man if he can't diagnose you no one can.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very good doctor

Posted on September 12th, 2013

I would recommend this doctor. He is very knowledgeable and makes room for you if you need to see him soon. I have a sister who has stage 4 brain cancer. Dr. Burnstine was the only doctor who raised the red flags about her condition early on. He viewed an MRI scan of her brain and while other doctors ( both at Condell Hospital and even the Mayo Clinic) thought the images only showed a burst blood vessel due to high blood pressure, Dr. Burnstine said that it could be a tumor. Turns out he was right because 2 months later my sister had to have emergency brain surgery to remove part of the tumor. As for myself, I have struggled with chronic migraine for 3 years. Dr Burnstine is the only local doctor who has been willing to methodically work with me to find the right meds and doses. Further, I had a weird case of Bell's Palsy (due to a bee sting and infection) that appeared when I was on vacation in Arizona and when I called him from there, his staff put me through to him (he was in the office with patients), and he helped me. Overall, I trust Dr. Burnstine. He has been right when other docs have been wrong and he has been willing to work with me both for my headaches and Bell's palsy. Other comments on this website mention his lack of personality or bedside manner, which is true to an extent. He does seem a bit shy and doesn't chit chat. But I don't go to a doctor to socialize. I go to get help, which he offers professionally and effectively.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 11th, 2013

Dr. Burnstine has proven himself to be incapable of diagnosing & treating neurological conditions. After several referrals for tests, he told me that he could not use the information from the test results for diagnosis or treatment. When I asked questions, he rolled his eyes and interrupted by exclaiming 'oh God' because he didn't want to explain why he wasn't able to use the test results for diagnosis and treatment. I told Dr. Burmstine that his reaction was inappropriate and unprofessional, and left the office in tears and refused to pay the co-pay. I will be filing a report with the AMA, all doctors are licensed through them.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Attentive Listener

Posted on July 2nd, 2013

I found Dr. Burnstine to be a great listener and extremely helpful. I have Narcolepsy and he's been wonderful in treatment and various questions. He's a really great Dr.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

excellent

Posted on April 26th, 2013

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

12 years With Doc.

Posted on July 23rd, 2012

This doctor, if you have done any research, it as smart and as knowledgeable as they come. Period. Doc. Burnstien does now his "stuff". If you are ill or need help he can fix you, if you can be fixed.You must be able to deal with the standard items that accompany a 'type A'.First, he is all work no play; he couldn't care less about anything that doesn't have relevance to your condition.Office staff is hard to reach.He seams to be overworked e.g. forgetting to refill scripts or incorrectly writing them.On the otherhand, will go out of his way to help.Bottom line. It does not matter if your mechanic is nice and sends you a card on a holiday, but if your brakes work he is your Doc.If a mistake is made, question it. But overall his knowledge and ability are worth it.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 27th, 2012

Not happy with Dr. Burnstine. no bedside manner more concerned with putting info in his computer than listening to the patient. Staff very nice but that is it. Did not help my daughter and was a waste of our time. made us feel very uncomfortable in his office.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Lake County Appreciative Patient

Posted on April 25th, 2012

Dr. Burnstine is an excellent Neurologist and his staff is helpful as is he. He is careful in reviewing your medication and checks before giving you anything that might not agree with meds you are already takind. HE LISTENS TO YOU and this is so important as not many Doctors do. I can't say enough about his staff who are always willing to work with you. Dr. Brunstine will to walk that extra mile to help and not many Doctors would do this. Truly a great person, and physician. M

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Burnstine is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Libertyville, IL.