The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Thomas Abell Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

17 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.4
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
33.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Thomas Abell Jr?

Showing 12 of 17 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on September 27th, 2016

He is the best eye doctor ever.He saved my Son's sight when no one else found it . I was employed at the hospital for 10 years and he was always number 1

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Cataract misdiagnosis/Free evaluation NOT FREE

Posted on August 8th, 2016

I recommend you get a 2nd opinion. Free lasik evaluation turned into a diagnosis of cataracts, although no apparent symptoms of cataracts. Was asked to make decision on surgery within 2 weeks so we didn't waste the time already spent on this evaluation. My vision is 20/30 without any glasses. It didn't add up so I got a 2nd opinion. The 2nd opinion doctor was incredulous that I was diagnosed with cataracts and actually guessed who had given me that diagnosis. He said if you shine enough light in a person's eyes you can diminish their vision and Dr. Abell's technician called that glare from my "cataracts". Dr. Abell himself never verified the diagnosis. Scary to think someone would risk my eyes for their own financial gain. When I did not call back, my insurance company was billed for an eye exam, which I had been verbally assured I would not be charged for. You apparently agree to this in all the paperwork you sign at the free lask appointment.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

PLEASE READ BEFORE PRK SURGERY

Posted on February 8th, 2016

Please read this review if you plan to have PRK surgery. I was told I did not qualify for LASIK by Dr. Franklin. No explanation was provided. I watched a video on the PRK risks and shook his hand and sent straight in to the nurse/receptionist, Bridgette. Without hesitation, without asking if I needed some time to research, or even if I understood the procedure, she asked how I would be paying. Not everyone responds with clarity on the spot. I paid money, scheduled the appointment and before leaving, asked how long I should take off from work. I really didn't even have time to even process that the procedure would not be LASIK. Nurses need to be able to see when caring for patients, you see. I am an ICU nurse. Five days is the response I got from Bridgette, the nurse/receptionist. I took 8 days off to be safe. I am on day 8, I return to work in one day and I cannot see well enough to even drive. I don't have the ability to focus without blurred vision. At my follow up appointment I verbalized my inability to see with frequent headaches and nausea. Dr. Franklin assured me I could get glasses if my vision was no better through the weekend. Today, I call. Conveniently, they do not make glasses there. As well, he did not even assess my "refraction" in the follow up appointment. As a result, I will need to "come back in for a quick check". This seems fine, aside from the fact that my husband is working and I cannot see to drive! Conveniently, this doctor is unavailable tomorrow. I work in health care. I understand risks. I also understand that honesty is key when informing your patients. After reading all the reviews, at least two weeks is the recommended recovery time. Unfortunately, my work schedule is made in advance and was done long before I read reviews. The staff could have saved me a great deal of stress and the safety of my own patients had they just been Honest. Obviously, I would have had the surgery, regardless. That was a quick and done deal, thanks to Bridgette. If you plan to have this surgery, please research it before agreeing or making a payment. And, for the love of God, take at least two weeks off from work, possibly more. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE "You will just need some time for that fine tuned vision" line. My time spent with Dr. Abell was approximately 15 minutes for surgery. He was kind and professional. Yet, your staff is a representation of your practice. If they are dishonest, it will reflect on you. I have never written a review. If this could possibly save someone else the stress and grief, it is worth the time. While Dr. Abell is not at fault, his staff should be accountable in what the education they provide to their patients. It is your money (all of which I paid out of pocket), so make sure you invest wisely.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Exceptional Ophthalmologist!

Posted on March 6th, 2015

I have seen many Ophthalmologist and Optometrist in my lifetime however, Dr. Abell is exceptional in his field of medicine. I was candid in the above ratings.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Fortunate

Posted on March 9th, 2012

After much research of area eye surgeons and vision corrective surgery Dr. Abell has the experience and the best results in Kentucky. I have been a patient since 1998 and referred many family members and friends who have all had excellent diagnosis and treatment of any eye issue. Dr. Abell and his staff not only explain any eye issues and treatment options, they do it in a way that is easy to understand. You know he's very busy by the scheduling and wait times but you understand once you have an appointment. You're not rushed and he takes his time explaining and answering questions. We are so fortunate that Dr. Abell chooses to be in Kentucky and not in New York

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on August 12th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 11th, 2017

One Star

Posted on October 24th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on August 17th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on August 6th, 2016

One Star

Posted on October 1st, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 13th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Thomas Abell Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lexington, KY.