ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. William Handy Is this you?

Filter Reviews

29 Ratings • 9 Comments

4.1
  • 19
  • 1
  • 4
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
42.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. William Handy?

Showing 12 of 29 Ratings

One Star

Posted on September 26th, 2016

Very good doctor. Very kind and caring. Very high staff turnover. No one ever seems to know what is going on. Nurse practitioner nice, but not very knowledgeable at all. Extremely rude office manager, Debbie. Horrible to patients, but seems to be fooling Dr. Handy as to the kind of person she really is. As good a doctor as he is, I'm considering leaving due to Debbie´s attitude. She a real Wolf in sheep's Clothing. Would not recommend this office.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Okay doctor if you don't mind a few annoyances

Posted on July 11th, 2016

Dr. Handy and the nurse practitioner, Mrs. Widener, are professional, I have no complaints about them. However, the same cannot be said for their staff. A nurse was very sarcastic and confrontational with me over the phone, and even hung up on me. Note that this nurse initiated the phone call and started out the conversation in a confrontational tone. Furthermore, the office staff turn over is so frequent, that it seems like no one ever knows what is going on. They even tried to charge my mother for services they have never given her. They sent her a bill for B12 shots, but they have never given her a B12 shot in the office. They did give her a B12 prescription, but her pharmacy provided it, and she gives herself the shots. She's still trying to dispute the charge. I don't think they're trying to cheat my mom. Instead, I suspect the problem is due to their high staff turnover--no one knows what's going on. If you only care about a good doctor, then Dr. Handy fits the bill. However, if you also desire a competent office staff, and nurses that treat you with respect, then Dr. Handy is not the doctor for you.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Handy

Posted on October 12th, 2012

Dr. Handy was able to diagnose me even after doctors in Dallas, NYC and UCONN were unable to do so. I have dealt with many doctors over the years and his level of determination and expertise is unmatched. Outstanding doctor.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Audrey Thompson

Posted on June 28th, 2012

Even though the wait is a little longer than other doctors (and not by much!) it is worth every minute to have him as a doctor. I believe he is truely concerned for all his patients. If not he needs to go to Hollywood, because he is a fabulous actor...NOT! Love my Dr. Handy.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 17th, 2012

He is a great doctor! Spends quality time with his patients. Great Bedside manner.He's worth the wait.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 22nd, 2012

Does not care for anyone over 65.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Great Doctor

Posted on February 4th, 2012

I know that the time you wait is longer but to have a doctor who you feel really listens and just don't throw pills at you is worth a little more time. Awesome Doctor.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 26th, 2011

Dr handy is a wonderful dr he is so caring he had the best bedside manner of any dr around

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

top notch doctor

Posted on March 4th, 2011

a wonderful doctor full of caring and compassion for his patients. would highly recommend to anyone seeking a new physician.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 29th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on November 17th, 2016

One Star

Posted on November 12th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. William Handy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Abingdon, VA.