The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Yee-Ru Chen Is this you?

Filter Reviews

13 Ratings • 6 Comments

2.9
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Yee-Ru Chen?

Showing 12 of 13 Ratings

Do not see this dr.

Posted on September 5th, 2015

Brusque, condescending and rushed. Argued against a referral for physical therapy but insisted I see a psychiatrist for eval for bipolar disorder due to intermittent stress and insomnia after speaking to me for less than 5 minutes. I now have to go back to my old primary doc on the other side of Houston to get this recommendation reviewed. I don't know what the implications of not following a referral for a psychiatric disorder are but I do know that even the mention of it and people, including Dr Chen, treat you as if you are less credible and have less license to act on your own behalf. A referral for a psychiatric disorder should be treated with greater gravity, and all patients with more respect.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Terrible, not going back!

Posted on October 6th, 2014

The reviews about this doctor not caring about her patients are true. First of all, her nurse was VERY rude, and didn't even respond to a question I had. When I chuckled at her audacity and asked the question again, she got very belligerent and gave me a non-answer. Then doctor Chen walked into the office like she was in a hurry, didn't introduce herself to me (we were there for my husband) or even look at me for that matter. When she talked to my husband, she stared down her nose at him almost like she didn't like him, and her responses to his questions were rude and aggressive. We both left there asking ourselves why she would treat us that way. Did we do something to upset her? I don't know, maybe she's just an angry person, but we will NEVER go back. And I'm going to leave a review like this on as many sites as I can to get the word out.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 1st, 2013

Dr. Chen was rude and short with me during my office visit. I was having stomach problems and she diagnosed me by an old colonoscopy I had five years ago. She would not even make an attempt to do blood work to see if I had a more serious condition.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awesome doctor!

Posted on July 18th, 2012

As a first timer having to find a doctor I was very pleased with selecting Dr. Chen. She was kind, but direct - exactly what I was looking for!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 1st, 2010

As a new patient Dr. Chen made sure she knew as much of my medical history from my file as she could before seeing me and it kept me from having to repeat all my medical history thus saving time spent in office.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

moves through patients

Posted on October 13th, 2009

I have been going to this doctor for about 2 years for miscelaneous things. She is not good with informing you on what is going on with your body. She does not take the time to learn about her patient. She is quick to medicate instead of finding the problem. But the clincher was, I have been a mild asthmatic for over 15 years now. I don't need a daily inhailer, but do rely on albuteral to save my life when an attack hits. I just ran out of the last of mine from almost 2 years ago and needed a refill. 1 week after the request, the pharmacy, not even the doctor, calls me to tell me that it was denied. I called the doctor's office and she needs me to pay her for another visit in order to get my refill. If I have to schedule an appointment after weezing for a week, it's with a doctor that cares about me being able to breath, not this one.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 1st, 2016

Two Stars

Posted on May 26th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 21st, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on October 20th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on June 11th, 2014

One Star

Posted on August 2nd, 2010

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Yee-Ru Chen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.