Dr. Chi Shum MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.5
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.5)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Wait Time 10.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Absolutely a great DR. He stuck by me and finally connected me with the specialist I needed and now im fighting a cancer I didn't know was there,and thanks to him I caught it and fought it early enough! I can't say enough about what a truly great Dr and person he is!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 10th, 2015
That was quick!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I don't understand such positive reviews for this doctor. He really is not thorough at all. Very, very quick visit. He smiles, nods his head & you're out the door. Is that what people consider being good doctor? I also had some strange, very out of range results on my blood test. He just smiled. It's so easy to get an appt because he doesn't spend time with patients. Therefore, he can fit in a LOT of patients in every day!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 25th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
brilliant! responds very quickly to e-mail! dr. shum is an excellent doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Truly a humanitarian and a find out
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 28th, 2014
Disinterested
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went once & will now look for a new doctor. A nice man but much more interested in keeping the visit to 15 min than in the patients problem. As a new patient I brought my most recent blood test from my last doctor. He didn't even look at them. I was never asked to fill out any Medical History papers. He asked me a few general questions abt my health. That was it! He merely glanced at the problem I came in for. Never asked a single question about it such as how long I'd had it, pain, etc. With new patients doctors normally spend more time. Not Dr. Shum (I believe they are also paid more for a first visit.). I was with him 17 minutes. I requested general blood tests & expected the results to be mailed to me like EVERY other doctor does. Nope. After waiting & waiting I called his office. Turns out you must ask for them via email! This is something I should have been told at the time of my visit. Would they just sit in a folder if I didn't follow up?? Too rushed, too many patients. Nice guy but I want a doctor who cares about me, not the clock.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2014
A Brilliant Physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I speak highly of him all the time. His bedside manner is gentle and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 29th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shum is the most thorough, prompt and responsive primary care physician I have ever seen. Dr. Shum initially flagged an issue for me that other specialists had missed and even dismissed. Ultimately the issue was found to be cancer. I am only ok today because Dr. Shum found it so early and took my care so seriously. His follow up with patients is inspiring. Dr. Shum immediately returns calls and answers emails from patients which is unheard of in the medical field. He sets a very high bar for other doctors to meet, but I hope the rest follow his lead !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 30th, 2013
Courteous and attentive
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No one probably "really" enjoys visits to the Doctor's office, but to the extent possible that they actually could be enjoyable, Dr Shum is probably the most likely one to provide that sentiment! I have been with Dr Shum since 2005 and have always been treated very respectfully, never felt rushed, and always been able to get an appointment very quickly if I had to. I also always felt like I got taken care of very well, and of course still do, and I really appreciate that. If I had something really urgent, Dr Shum would really try to accommodate me even if he was very busy, and I feel like he always go the extra mile to make sure his patients are happy. If I have specific suggestions or requests as for what kind of treatment I need, he always listens to that and tries to accommodate me, as long as it is within reason. Wait times are usually very low, and office staff are efficient too... They expanded their offices recently and added more rooms, and the new office feels very fresh and nice. I have been with Dr Shum for about 8 years, and plan to stay with him. If anyone is looking to establish a longer term professional relationship with a doctor that you can trust and that you can follow over time, I would highly recommend that you consider Dr Shum.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 13th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shum is a excellent doctor. I can not say enough good things about him and his practice. He is very friendly, kind, a good listener and has a excellent bedside demeanor. He has helped us with our various health problems throughout the years and has sent us to specialists when needed and he always follows up with the outcome. He does not rush through his patients like other new doctors you may come across in manhattan. My husband and I have both been patients of Dr. Shums for the last five years. We have sent other family members as well as friends to Dr. Shum and they always leave his office very happy with his diagnosis and meeting Dr.Shum.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2012
excellent doctor! we love dr. shum
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shum is a excellent doctor. I can not say enough good things about him and his practice. He is very friendly, kind, a good listener and has a excellent bedside demeanor. He has helped us with our various health problems throughout the years and has sent us to specialists when needed and he always follows up with the outcome. He does not rush through his patients like other new doctors you may come across in manhattan. My husband and I have both been patients of Dr. Shums for the last five years. We have sent other family members as well as friends to Dr. Shum and they always leave his office very happy with his diagnosis and meeting Dr.Shum.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2011
They just dont get any better then Dr Shum...
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Trying to find a primary care doctor is painful and overwhelming and I am so LUCKY and thankful that I found Dr Shum. He has wonderful bedside manner and is very thourough. I email him with questions and he writes me back within minutes. What other doctor do you know does that? Dr. Shum is phenominal.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2011
Great and thorough doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
will recommend to anybody!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Chi Shum, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Beth Fisher

15 years experience

1.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Kazianis

9 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Sriraman Srinivasan

11 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor