Dr. Christopher Mays MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine Olney, MD

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.1)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    20%
  • Bad
    8%
  • Wait Time 15.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Mays is the BEST!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 15th, 2014
No longer happy with this practice
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Originally I liked Dr. Mays & his practice but over the past few years have noticed a change. It is almost impossible to see Dr. Mays. His PA's seem to change frequently. And the new ones seem to be straight out of school. Recently my husband has been ill. He was seeing the PA. After lab results dismissed one diagnosis, he was told to go elsewhere for treatment. First Dr. Mays refused to even talk with him - message relayed by desk receptionist. The the PA also refused to talk with him and told him to seek a solution elsewhere - yes, she gave him a referral But she did not have the courtesy or professionalism to call him personally, review the lab results with him and listen to his concerns - just an abrupt dismissal delivered by the desk receptionist. This doctor and his medical staff seem too busy to be bothered with a patient's well being. If the problem isn't an easy fix, they don't want to be bothered. It is a shame, but we will be looking for a doctor who is both professional and compassionate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 28th, 2013
What a back staff!!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First I have worked in Doctor's offices, both specialties and PCP, over the last 20 + years. First, make sure you read and memorize any papers signed on the initial appt because there is a missed appt fee that you will see one time as it is not posted in office nor is it mentioned when they call with the reminder. Second, I went and got called back after a half hour(not bad considering doctors can't predict all appt time taken), then I was introduced to the first med assist (very cold) who couldn't even take a BP correctly, then came in Emily the PA, who seemed okay but then you realise that the confidence is not there which inturn makes you second guess her knowledge completly. Return visit 6 mos later, different med assist same lack of knowledge in performing general med assist tasks (I've trained MA before and they both sucked), Emily won't discuss anything on phone so my next appt next week is with a different doc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was hospitalized with diverticulitis while Dr. Mays was on vacation. He came in every day to check on me. I was touched by his concern.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2012
BEST DOCTOR I'VE HAD IN MY 64 YEARS
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DR. MAYS TOOK ME AS A PATIENT 4-5 YEARS AGO.I HAD TYPE II DIABETES,HIGH CHOLESTEROL & TRIGLYCERIDES. HE PUT ME ON A PROGRAM THAT ADDRESSED ALL THESE ISSUES AND MY READINGS ARE NOW IN THE NORMAL RANGE. I AM VERY PLEASED ( AS IS MY WIFE ) HE REALLY CARES ABOUT MY HEALTH. HE IS A GREAT DOCTOR.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 10th, 2011
Poor Office Staff does not make up for the good Doctor
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mays is a very good doctor,however that does not even come close to making up for the complete obnoxious and rude treatment his patients receive from his staff. Not one staff member is even the least bit helpful. You are typically on hold to make appts for over 15 mins. There is a 72 hour wait for referrals, even if you have an appt with Dr. Mays, you are required to return 3 days later for your referral. They will not fax or mail them. Never have been seen on time. Have waited 30-60 minutes for to be seen. Staff doesn't care, and questions and concerns are always meet with rude comments. They openly speak badly about patients that have just left are have no respect for the patients that are paying their salaries. Dr. May's is a good doctor, but not good enough to have to endure the behavior of his staff. Find someone else! I am finally after 5 years of being treated so poorly
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2011
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor, would recommend him to anyone. Takes whatever time is needed to explain things and answer all of your questions
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 19th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My last doctors' office was a nightmare with long waits, a rude staff and doctors who never seemed to be paying their full attention to what I was saying. I felt rushed.Dr. Mays' office is completely different. Bridgette, his PA also is fantastic and the new doctor, Dr. Eng seems very good too, although I've seen him only once.I would highly recommend this practice.

5.0 of 5
November 10th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's an Excellent doctor! He spends a lot of time listening and is not afraid to send you for test if needed. He has a lot of knowledge of medical issues and is great a diagnosing a problem!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 9th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A doctor who really cares.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
January 16th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Christopher Mays, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Olney, MD.