inactive

David L Berger MD Patient Reviews

Vitals cannot verify the address for this professional. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their address. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Review

3.9
  • 43 patient ratings
  • 17 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

17 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    63%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    2%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 25.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2016
Fixing what couldn't be fixed
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I first came in contact with Dr Berger after I had been operated on twice for diverticulitis by a different surgeon in a different hospital. I experienced numerous complications including fistulas and adhesions and ended up with a colostomy , and t I was tolld it would be permanent by the surgeon who performed the procedure. I was only 40 and had 3 small children and was despondent. Dr. Berger accepted me as a patient and said the take down of the colostomy would be very challenging. He also said he liked a challenge. His confidence was exhilarating. Dr Berger was successful and l now lead a very active life with out a colostomy bag attached to my abdomen. I will be forever grateful to him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 6th, 2016
A lot of attitude; results of surgery TBD
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Needs a refresher course in bedside manner. Abrupt -- bordering on obnoxious.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 30th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr David Berger was excellent doing my hernia repair he was outgoing very fun and excellent Doctor I was extremely happy if I need something done again I will go with him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fantastic surgeon. He repaired my painful hernia a few months back, now I am back at the gym again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is such a phenomenal Physician and truly a great guy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 9th, 2015
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Following a metastatic colon cancer diagnosis a team was formed to oversee my treatment with Dr. Berger as the surgeon. He has performed two liver (part of the treatment plan) resections, a colon resection with ileostomy and the reversal of the ileostomy. I've healed wonderfully with all four surgeries. I, along with my family, found his bedside manner to be warm and kind. He does have a large case load causing wait time but when my turn came I never felt rushed in my appointments with him. I also did not have to wait to get appointments. I referred a friend to him and she was equally as pleased. I feel blessed to have him on my medical team.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 20th, 2015
Great Surgeon! This guy is awesome!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am just getting around to writing this review. I had my inguinal hernia repaired by Dr. Berger in 2014 at Mass General Hospital. I did a lot of research before choosing him. He is the energetic, confident type and is ready to rock n'roll on what ails you. I know some don't like that style. I like it. I don't even care about a surgeon's personality anyway. My main concern was that he excelled at the surgery I needed. And he does. His work for the Boston pro sports teams alone helps to prove that point. While others I know are still having problems months and years after their hernia repairs, not me, I am as good as new. Thanks, Dr. Berger!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2014
Terrific doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My mom had two surgeries with Dr. Berger. He's terrific.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2014
Inadeqate Surgical Procedure
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Entered MGH for routine left hemicolectomy.Malignant polyp found on colonoscopy Too much bowel devascularized. Left with partial bowel obstruction plus anastamosis leaked initially.Fortunately 2nd surgery at Tufts medical center saved my life AVOID BUTCHER BERGER! IT MAY SAVE YOUR LIFE
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2014
Laparascopic Colon Surgery Patient
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I recently had a laparascopic resection of a portion of large intestine to address repeated bouts of diverticulitis. I went into surgery well informed and well prepared. I believe Dr. Berger and his staff were outstanding! Excellent bedside manner. Surgery performed flawlessly as far as I can tell. Combined with the kindness and professionalism at MGH, I feel I received world-class care. I highly recommend Dr. Berger and MGH
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 20th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My biggest complaint is he is insulting (thinking he's funny??????) and at surgery time he gave me needles before the IV took affect even though a nurse said she was giving me more to help the pain. He still gave me the painful needles. I think that wasn't very profession or nice. I wouldn't go to him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2011
Very Talented Surgeon
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Referred as top choice by my MGH based primary care doctor, took a little while as do all specialists there to be seen. Quick inspection of my likely hernia and he confirmed the diagnosis from a CT scan. Easy same day surgery with open incision which has healed beautifully. Typical fast moving surgeon who wont sit and talk about the weather or how your day goes but I just wanted to know the guy with the knife had talent, and he does
Was this review helpful? Yes No