Dr. David Simpson MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.1
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.9)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    42%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    8%
  • Dissatisfied
    15%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    31%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 16 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
July 21st, 2015
Peripheral Neuraphy
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Extremely knowledgeable and thorough during exams and during discussion period.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 19th, 2015
Not for publication
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr Simpson is extremely thorough . I was very grateful that I had the opportunity to have visited him. And if anyone can help me I don't know any other doctor as capable or interested.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 10th, 2015
Solid 2nd opinion; don't expect more
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Simpson is extremely bright and clearly a very well-educated neurologist. I personally found him to be very opinionated, not only about my condition and diagnosis, but also in his advice about non-surgical next steps. He didn't offer anything on a forward basis and passed me off to someone who had no information about, or experience, with my condition. Throughout the consult I felt more like I was a number and not a patient who he had spent time treating at a prior appt. He didn't remember my injury or any of my concerns; didn't seem to even remember me. Dr. Simpson made it known that he did not want to continue helping me on an ongoing basis for a very difficult and debilitating problem, and one in which he has a lot of experience treating. I got the feeling that I was a burden, and someone on whom he could order $$ one-time tests and later ditch. I left his office feeling more isolated and depressed about my condition than ever before. I was also prepared to have Dr. Simpson perform the tests he personally promised to carry out, but they were done by not one but two others instead -- not what we had agreed to at my first consult. Also, he ordered tests which provided less information about my condition than the results of outside tests I brought with me. I got the sense that I was a guinea pig and a teaching tool for his students. If you're looking for a solid second opinion then Dr. Simpson warrants your time, but I wouldn't expect much more than that. Be prepared to not have all your questions answered and good luck finding a free chair in the cramped waiting area. PS the dining area in the hospital's cafeteria was surprisingly filthy, and the neurology exam rooms are dated, small and dreary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 6th, 2014
Dr. Simpson is one of the most horrible doctors I have ever met with. His bedside manner was an embarrassment and he was not only abrupt, oppositional, and impatient, but he was very rough in his physical testing with a patient that has severe back injuries. He had an ego and was a disgrace to a very reputable hospital. He seemed more interested pushing pills, than he was with actually finding a medical solution. Additionally, his diagnosis was incorrect and it was a direct result of his lack of interest.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2013
Genius
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent experience!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 10th, 2010
Proactive Dr
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I see Dr David Simpson at the Muscular Dystrophy Clinic in MI. He is a compassionate, caring doctor who listens to what I have to say about my disease. I like that he thinks outside the box for treatment options.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 9th, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I first met Dr.Simpson he was very compasion with me,I have bell palsy and could not afford the medicine, he helped me get the medicine I needed. Thank you and I will never forget your help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 10th, 2010
He is a waste of time and money
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to see him because I had peripheral nerve damage and heard that was his field of expertise. No such thing. He actually said I did not have it! Despite all the obvious symptoms, he insisted that PN was not the issue. He did not offer any diagnosis and no follow up at all. He is weird and uncommunicative. Stay away!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 5th, 2010
Disappointed
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was thrilled when he began as a caring, reassuring doctor, telling me he would get to the heart of the problem after another neurologist referred me to him. However, he discussed ER patients with a student dr. in front of me. After an initial test failed to identify the problem, Dr. Simpson gave up and offered unprofessional advice. NOT impressed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 30th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the best doctors in New York for neuropathy. I was referred to him by other neurologists. His office facilities in the hospital are barebones, but he has all the necessary diagnostic equipment available to him including EEG, etc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 25th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
An excellent MD who needs improvement in his bedside manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 10th, 2009
extraordinary
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
An expert in his field with a way of explaining complex medical issues in a simple way that even I could understand and appreciate. It gave me new insight into my own condition and the issues I may face in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Simpson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Ritesh Ramdhani

7 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kathleen Mullin

8 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Stephen Krieger

11 years experience

4.9 of 5