Dr. David Van Thiel MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 47 patient ratings
  • 24 comments

Last 12 months:

3.4 (+ 0.3)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    36%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    34%
  • Wait Time 39.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 21st, 2016
for the reviewer " feeling a little bit scared"
When reading "a little bit scared," I too had an endoscopy with rubber bands placed in my esophagus by this doctor. Do not go to this doctor for this procedure! You wake up in so much pain, your throat is scraped up in the back, it last for a week. You can hardly eat or swallow. This happened a few times with me. He is rough and shakes. I go to another doctor now. I am on different meds and my liver is back to normal. I have had two more of these procedures on my esophagus with another doctor. I wake up in no pain, and it was a breeze. No wonder you were scared, you had every right to be. How do you like the receptionist? What she said to me I will never forget. I told him and he had no comment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2016
His patient in 2000
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was part of a team that saved my life at Loyola medical center may wood il ...I was transplanted in 2006. Thanks to all who were part of that team.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 22nd, 2016
Don't go here
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is a crooked Doctor. I still owe lots of money and never got diagnosis. The front desk woman is extremely rude. I waited 5 hours and had unnecessary surgery. Con man
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 25th, 2016
A little bit Scared.....
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a colonoscopy and an endoscopy done by Dr. Van Thiel. I was completely trusting of his knowledge, and he seems to pay close attention to everything that Is going on with me. During my colonoscopy and endoscopy, I needed approximately 10 rubber bands put in my esophagus. When I woke up I was in a lot of pain. It was horrible, I kind of just wish I would have had the opportunity of a 2nd opinion. I will still continue to see this Doctor, but prior to any other procedures I will make sure to get a 2nd opinion. I do not feel that he did me wrong, I just feel like it should have been discussed prior to doing the additional surgery. I am still in a lot of pain, so possibly I just feel upset about that....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 13th, 2015
Cannot get medical records
Friendly Staff
I have asked for my medical records to be sent to my new hepatologist multiple times with no success. Apparently Ms George ( Dr Van Thiel's assistant) does not feel that she needs to comply with the law. Many former patients have experienced this same mistreatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2015
Best Doctor I've ever had the pleasure to place my life in
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend this doctor highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 7th, 2015
wife of Bob Lirot
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Thiel is the best. God worked through him to heal my husband, Bob, of Hep C. They said it was a miracle. That's what we prayed for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 7th, 2015
came to see my son when he was diagnosed hepatic peliosis a very rare liver disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 10th, 2014
May 2014 update
I too was his patient in 2002 & agree his bedside manner is harsh. He does know his field & s involved with new treatment. I am a non-responder thrice over the years. My PCP just referred me to him @ Rush. He also practices in Milwaukee, WI. I am hesitant about going back as the various cocktails of meds made me sicklier...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 11th, 2013
Very unprofessional receptionist
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr VanThiel's receptionist is his wife who talks on the phone loudly, uses the patient's name and problem and violates HIPPA every time I am in there. She is also very rude and extremely unprofessional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2013
PATIENT
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
REALLY... your complaining about a dingy office and a loud receptionist? That seems so incidental when it comes to the knowledge of the Dr. himself. I have gone to Dr. Van Thiel for many, many years. I recently went to the Dr. who took his place at rush. I have seen this new Dr. 2 times and each time he never once checked any part of me. He read a computer and told me the results of various tests--shook my hand and told me he would see me in a couple of months. I am looking forward to meeting with Dr. Van Thiel again, I really don't care that he isn't the most out going person, or that his office is dingy--he saved my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 26th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
This doctor has left Rush Hospital in Chicago and opened his new office in Berwyn. I wanted to give him a higher rating because he does know his field of study and is experienced. The new office is just different, it's in an older office without any modern amenities. His receptionist seems to know it all, and you will hear it when you sit there waiting for her to finish your paperwork. It's very unprofessional and loud especially when she speaks about everyone's problems. The lab people are different every time you go and they aren't that good and very unfriendly. He needs a nurse to answer calls and handle the office in a professional way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. David Van Thiel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Berwyn, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Allen Rosenbaum

38 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Allen Bernthal

43 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Jennie Ng

16 years experience

4.6 of 5