Dr. Donald Kastenbaum MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 51 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

3.4 (+ 0.1)

51 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    37%
  • Great
    12%
  • Good
    12%
  • Poor
    14%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 36 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
July 15th, 2017
A Dr too Involved with his own image to really listen to his patients!
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He may be a wonderful surgeon but there is more to good care than a perfect incision. He needs to value his patients beyond the OR. I found him patronizing, insulting, divaish and self-involved. He made me feel bad about my pain as if it was a reflection on him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 6th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm 68 years old and have never seen a doctor so indifferent to the well being of his patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
December 7th, 2016
2nd Opinion
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kastenbaum is cordial and attentive as is his PA. Lots of information is provided. I specifically was looking for the anterior approach so was directed to him by my health insurance carrier. It turned out he prefers the lateral aproach and told me the healing is approximately the same. I wanted the anterior approach nonetheless and because I qualify for this approach I did not meet with Dr. Kastenbaum again. However he was extremely helpful in alerting me to potential alergic reactions causing a general feeling of unwellness post surgery. He arranged an appointment with a dermatologist to ensure I would not have any concerns post surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 12th, 2016
Be a part of the team
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kastenbaum did a total knee replacement for me. My recovery was exactly as long and as painful as I was told that it would be by him. He believes that the medical professionals and patient act as a team. This means that the patient has to do his part. My recovery and current condition, almost 2 years post-op, are amazingly gratifying and I have no limits on what I can do or pain in doing it. My once crooked leg is now straight and true.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 20th, 2015
Knee replacement
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doing very well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 20th, 2014
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kastenbaum uses antiquated technique foe hip replacement drilling holes into your thigh bone to install metal plate and wires that cause constant pain post surgery. The unnecessary hardware usually has to be removed surgically years later. I went to another Dr at HSS who told me this technique is how hip replacement s were done 30 -40 years ago and there is absolutely no need for it. Hard to believe a supposed highly regarded doctor would do this, maybe it's a short cut or a way to make money on the 2nd surgery to remove the hardware.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 5th, 2014
Bad experience all around/ still burning.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Kastenbaum did a left hip replacement surgery for me in 1999 when the cartilage in my hip wore down following a professional dance career. Shallow hip cups were also a contributor to the excessive motility in the joint. The surgery left me with a 3/4 inch leg discrepancy. Initially, Dr. Kastenbaum suggested a lift for my shoe and then later flat out denied that he "would ever let a pt. leave his OR with a 3/4 inch leg discrepancy." After consulting with 3 other orthopedic surgeons, I was advised that indeed there is a 3/4 inch discrepancy, but there was nothing to do other than to redo the surgery, which was not advisable. Back problems persist as a result, even with the shoe heel adjustment. A lawyer was consulted and I was informed that if still actively performing, I would have a case to sue for malpractice. I did not like his attitude, long waiting time in both waiting room and exam room. His dismissiveness was insulting. Fortunately, I found good care elsewhere.

1.0 of 5
October 13th, 2014
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had hip replacement surgery with Dr. Kastenbaum in 2010 and have been in pain ever since. I have returned to Dr. Kastenbaum 3 times over the years, and each and every time all he does is look at my xray and tell me there is nothing wrong. He has no interest whatsoever in hearing about your pain symptoms, and is very dismissive of any you may describe. He insists the xray looks normal, so there is nothing wrong. After reading several bad reviews and similar complaints from other patients, I feel better knowing that I'm not the only person who continues to have pain after enduring the horrific hip replacement surgery. I thought I would feel better, but the pain is actually just as bad if not worse than before surgery. If you need hip replacement surgery, definitely look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 2nd, 2013
Avoid at all costs
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Does a hip replacement that no one else uses in that he puts in extra hardware that causes pain and uses the same size implant no matter what patient size. Attitude is condescending. Some staff are incompetent. Beth Israel is a third rate hospital with little concern for patient comfort. I recently had the second hip replaced by another surgeon at HSS and already that is now my "good" side. I ave to have a revision of Dr. Kastenbaum's work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2012
I am impress with the results!
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had both total knee replacements by Dr. Kastenbaum. As of today, I never felt better. I am able to take long walks for 6 miles, round trip, with walker or cane. I improving and getting better walking up stairs without pain. Overall, if I continue with my routine knee exercises, I am able to flex my knees with pain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2012
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had a hard case and he spent plenty of time to explain and subsequently help me with my hip. I am very grateful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
I love the doctor and staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Donald Kastenbaum, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.