Overall Review

4.7
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.3)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    84%
  • Satisfied
    9%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 10.9 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shimazu has with important issues, has called me at home as late as 9:00 P.M. Great Doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2015
EX patient of Dr. Shimazu
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shimazu appears to be a very well liked doctor if you read his other posted reviews. During my 5 visits during a two year time frame, he NEVER sat more than 10 minutes. During my visits, he appeared to be flustered due to his computer illiteracy, often cursing his office for implementing an online patient automation history look up. Guess he's one of those doctors who prefers to sift through a stack of documents to read your history. If I had more than two concerns, he would want you to make another appointment which I thought to be odd. Those in the working field can't afford to keep taking time off and schedule a visit for each and every individual concern. In my heart I really want to give Dr. Shimazu the highest of ratings but I just can't for reasons listed above. It appears his office overbooks him and he's just going through patients like cattle - not what I wanted from a family physician. After making the decision of leaving Dr. Shimazu, I searched hard and found another equally well liked and qualified doctor who is quite the opposite to Dr Shimazu, in terms of his bedside manners. Since my early teens (I'm now in my 50's) of seeing numerous doctors for one reason or another, while there are certain things such has excessive wait times will never change, glad that there are doctors who are patients and really take the time to spend with their patients to hear them out. thanks for taking the time to read my review
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2013
Top Doctors of Orange County
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shimazu has been my primary care doctor for almost thirty years. He is the most intelligent primary care doctor. He was voted the Top Doctors of Orange County for the last few years. Nowadays, finding a primary care doctor who listens, still calls you at home and able to refer you to the right specialty doctors is extremely important. If you are not happy with you current doctor, I suggest you to see him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 12th, 2013
Excellent Diagnostician
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shimazu was the only physician to diagnose my Lyme Disease. I had visited several prominent Orange County infectious disease specialists and one rheumatologist who could not figure out or misdiagnosed my pathology. I was successfully treated and recovered 100% after suffering for years with this painful, crippling disease. He is the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2012
The Smartest Doctor I Know
Wait time
10 minutes
All my families go to him. He is the best, most intelligent doctor we know.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2012
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wish he would look at me instead of his computer - seems like an assistant could be typing information instead of the Dr. so he could spend his valuable time with the patient. Otherwise, I really respect his expertise and will continue driving long distance to see him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2011
Physician of Excellence
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just moved to OC and needed a good doctor. I have been asking around for a few months and Dr. Shimazu's name continues to be given to me. I finally went to see him. I do have to wait a little. But, I guess you have to wait for the best. He is very thorough and asking a lot of smart questions in regards to my family medical history. I also understand he has awarded Physician of Excellence for many many years
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2011
Conscientious Perfectionist
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Our four family members have been to Doctor Shimazu for about twenty years now. He is just the best doctors we have ever known. We are also a medical family. The reputation of this doctor is impeccable. We believe he has been voted "The Best Doctor of Orange County" for consecutive years. Although the wait is sometimes long, but it is a sign of a good doctor whom everyone wants to see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2011
The Best
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He takes care many of my family members and friends of the family. They all agree that he is just the best doctor in OC
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2011
The best doctor in OC
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the most conscientious doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2010
One of the best doctor in OC
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has been our family doctors for years. He was voted The Best Doctors in OC for many years. He is a very intelligent and conscientious hard working doctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Hal Shimazu, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Orange, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Ana Fajardo

17 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Annette Bernhut-Caplin

32 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lawrence Ehrlich

23 years experience

4.2 of 5