Dr. Janice Saal MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Watertown, MA

Overall Rating

2.1
  • 11 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-1.1)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    27%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    73%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 10.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 1st, 2017
Rude, wrong, and lacking in compassion
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had the misfortune of seeing Dr. Saal about five years ago, when she worked at Harvard. She interrupted me as I tried to explain the issue, told me I shouldn't question those who knew better than I did (meaning herself), and sent me on my way with some pills. Things didn't get better, however, and a few days later, I had to go to ER and undergo a surgical operation for the very problem she claimed I didn't have. She is rude, imperious, unkind, and just a terrible, terrible doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 1st, 2017
Rude, wrong, and lacking in compassion
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had the misfortune of seeing Dr. Saal about five years ago, when she worked at Harvard. She interrupted me as I tried to explain the issue, told me I shouldn't question those who knew better than I did (meaning herself), and sent me on my way with some pills. Things didn't get better, however, and a few days later, I had to go to ER and undergo a surgical operation for the very problem she claimed I didn't have. She is rude, imperious, unkind, and just a terrible, terrible doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Exceptional
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 18th, 2013
Misdiagnosis
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Saal misdiagnosed me (a serious and life threatening diagnosis) Thank God for a second opinion. Avoid her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2013
Avoid Dr. Saal
Wait time
5 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Rude, impatient, lacking in heart and compassion. The contrast between Dr. Saal--who I encountered as the on-call physician one weekend for my surgeon's medical practice--and my primary surgeon (polite, kind, compassionate, sympathetic, non-judgemental, extremely skilled, willing to go extra miles for his patients when warranted) could not have been more stark. I would agree with other negative reviews: AVOID DR. SAAL. Seek other providers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Saal works at Harvard University Health Services, which is where I had the misfortune of encountering her. She is rude, judgmental, and highly unprofessional, and her health advice was totally off (as I discovered after having to go to ER a few days later). Avoid at all costs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 25th, 2012
based on my experience
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
this doctor has poor judgement and skills as a surgeon. My health got worse after her treatment. I wish I could switch to another surgeon at that time.

1.0 of 5
January 13th, 2012
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
With something better at every other hospital, it is not clear why she seems to think so highly of herself. Routine evaluation was a bust and a second opinion at a better hospital a must.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 17th, 2014

5.0 of 5
July 10th, 2009
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Janice Saal, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Watertown, MA.