Dr. Joan Sy DO Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Laguna Hills, CA

Overall Rating

2.7
  • 13 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    31%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    38%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Wait Time 24.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 1st, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Misdiagnosed. Interfered with the care from specialists. Bullied and belittled me.to do what she wanted instead of calling specialists to discuss any issues she may have had. When she finally got her way I got extremely sick. Took a very long time to get things back under control.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2015
More of sales person than doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have visited her for about 2 yrs. She seemed good when I needed only well checkup. She only sold vitamins to me which I didn't mind at the time. But when I got sick, she couldn't diagnose, tried to sell so many items ( OMM, detox kit, blood sampling at her place etc). When I refused to buy her products she bullied me as I was vulnerable. She put my treatment in wrong direction which I learnt after I stopped seeing her and went to other doctor where i recovered quickly. She tried to do specialist job and recommended unnecessary tests. I am glad i am out of her trap.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Sy charges to fill out school Athletic forms. I did not feel that she really did much during my child's well checkup except ask a series of routine questions. I did not feel the visit was useful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is very attentive, caring, and the best in diagnosing my various health issues. She is thorough in her follow-ups and always takes the time to listen and address my health needs. Dr. Sy has a wonderful personality and a great sense of humor. I would recommend Dr. Sy to all my friends, family and colleagues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 19th, 2011
Miss the Service & Care
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Recently, I started with a new company which carries Kaiser for medical insurance. Unfortunately for me, Dr. Joan Sy is not under that medical program. I met Dr. Sy at least three years ago and remember her being the most thorough and caring doctor I had met on my first visit. Over the three years, she continued to provide me with the same care she offered me on the very first visit. That - in itself - is rare to find in the medical field. I have referred three friends to her who continue to seek for her medical care to this day. Five months ago, she was able to provide early diagnosis for skin cancer during a physical exam. Now that I am with Kaiser, I realize just how much I miss the service and care Dr. Sy provided during my time with her. Thank you for treating me like I was like a family member.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 4th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Sy has a wonderful staff to support a less than knowledgable Dr. She seems nice and has a friendly bedside manner but does not appear to review your history in relation to your symptoms or medical diagnosis. Last year Dr Sy diagnosed me with a chronic medical disorder and offered no information on the disease or how it would affect my body long term. She also has ignored several of my symptoms and does not want to treat them, but would rather wait until they cause further harm to my body systems long term. This is a Dr.who takes the watch and wait approach instead of a proactive approach. If you are a proactive patient in regards to your own health, this is NOT the Dr. for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 5th, 2011
Great Doctor - Caring, professional
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the best physicians I have ever had. She is caring, professional and talented.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 7th, 2009
She is only after MONEY
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She seems nice however takes pts even when she is behind and is not smart to diagnose simple problems and is only after money
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joan Sy, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Laguna Hills, CA.