The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karen Smith Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karen Smith?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karen Smith?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Accurate Diagnosis
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
24.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Easy Appointments

Showing 14 Ratings with 6 Comments

2.3 Rating

June 19th, 2013

Avoid if you value your time.

Hate to give a bad review but almost feel obligated to. Wait times are ridiculous. I waited over an hour for 3 out of my 4 appointments. That's just bad business and poor planning. Asked for a 1 pg Dr note 3 separate times before I finally got it almost 2 weeks later. Wanted to like her because she is very friendly, but that's not the only thing I look for in a Dr. Way too disorganized for me.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 11th, 2012

Will not return

Dr Smith made up for my one hour and 40 minute wait by apologizing for my wait. After that, she lost any hope of my returning. Her "exam" consisted of holding the stethoscope on my chest in two places for less than a full second before stating, "Your heart is good". She listened to my lungs in the posterior position for less than a full inhalation/exhalation cycle, in two places, then pushed on my belly briefly above my pants line while I was seated. As a nursing student, I am well aware of what constitutes heart, lung, and abdomen assessment. Furthermore, I don't believe she read my history as she suggested using caffeine for my water retention. Since I have GERD, this is not a good option for me. In addition the one referral she made, was not ready by the time of my appointment 9 days later(usually only takes 3-5 days), AND, the one prescription she called in, never made it to my pharmacy.Needless to say, I have changed my PCM with TriCare and would not recommend this MD to anyone.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 11th, 2012

Stay away

Dr Smith made up for my one hour and 40 minute wait by apologizing for my wait. After that, she lost any hope of my returning. Her "exam" co ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 9th, 2012

Best Kept Secret in DFW!

Absolutely yes I recommend Dr Smith. I recommend her to everyone as well as my out-of-town guests should the call arise.I've been in DFW for nearly 6 years and visited a variety of physicians and Dr. Smith is top of her game. She will listen carefully, ask/answer thoroughly and not miss a detail. If you have a concern, she is not intimidating and very easily approached. She is not money-medicine focused, but person focused and does not alienate natural resources for healing in her treatments. I trust her more than any other physician I have ever had in my life - and that is quite a number.Don't waste your time looking around. If you are in a reasonable vicinity of Dr. Smith, go to her as your Family practitioner, you will be glad you did.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 30th, 2012

Thank the Lord for Dr Smith!

Dr Smith has been wonderful! My family (my husband, myself, and our two very young daughters, ages 4 1/2 and 6 weeks) have been searching high and low for a doctor who takes the time to get to know us and always does so with the most wonderful attitude. We have had NO luck with doctors (especially pediatricians) in this area. But she is simply lovely! She will sit down with you as a patient and really address the problem so that you can effectively tackle whatever it is that needs to be addressed. She is a God-send...do yourself a favor and give her a visit! Oh, and a 'p,s,'...her staff (the nurse Lecretia (sp?) and the receptionist...I can't recall her name) are just sweet, sweet, sweet. They truly help you feel automatically comfortable, which is never easy when visiting a doctor!

Wait time
3 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2012

horrible

She makes references educated people vs. non educated people as if non educated people are stupid. They are horrible with infants. My son was going to them since he wad born. It had been problem after problem. She doesn't care all they want is to grow there business. All I have to say is stay away!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2016

5.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2015

5.0 Rating

March 9th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 5th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

August 27th, 2014

5.0 Rating

July 1st, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karen Smith is similar to the following 3 Doctors near North Richland Hills, TX.

  • Dr. Dick Pafford

    Dr. Dick Pafford

    Family Medicine

    North Richland Hills, TX 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    42
  • Dr. James Czewski

    Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine

    North Richland Hills, TX 0 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    39
  • Dr. Jacqueline Frazer

    Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine

    North Richland Hills, TX 0 mi

    3.7
    (1)
    17