Dr. Loren Carlson DO Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Sarasota, FL

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.2)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    70%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2017
Excellent doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2017
1st class practice
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carlson and his son run a 1st class practice. Excellent top shelf staff and their medical knowledge is 2nd to none.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 29th, 2015
Do Not Recommend
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had one appt with Dr. Carlson. I am relatively healthy and a 64 yr old educated male. In that appt he did not seem to listen to me, seemed disinterested, preoccupied and made three errors. First he told me I had high blood pressure based on one test in his office and prescribed a medication. I told him I check it regularly and it's never been high. He told me everyone my age has high blood pressure. Second for a skin condition he told me the medication my dermatologist prescribed was not a steroid which was needed for my condition. In fact it is one of the most powerful topical steroids which was confirmed by my research and my dermatologist. Lastly he prescribed a topical for my skin which is primarily for fungal infections and is not optimal for my condition which was confirmed by my dermatologist. As a result based on my experience I am not going back to see him and would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 21st, 2012
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff is rigid and not terribly knowledgeable, to the point where they TELL you something is covered by your insurance and then you end up with a fat bill later. Or they miscode insurance paperwork so you have to spend the time clearing it up. It's difficult to easily get authorizations for any prescription refills, even if you've been taking the medicine for years. They authorize a couple of months of refills and then make you come in for an appointment when you need another authorization. Anything to keep those billables up!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 22nd, 2011
Misdiagnosis
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carlson misinterpreted simple lab tests, which resulted in a misdiagnosis. I was told to take medication which had the potential to negatively impact my serious health condition of which he was aware. Luckily I double checked with my specialist before following his advice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 30th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carlson gave me a scary diagnosis in less than one minute! No follow up after the test. I had to call the office for the result, and had to wait for more days for an appointment, just to hear that the result is normal--So I'm not dying.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 29th, 2011
HE is a great doctor
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Carlson saved my life some years ago when he immediately and correctly diagnosed a major problem that another doctor has dismissed as minor for months. He takes time with me and my family to listen and respond to our questions and needs, and has a friendly and efficient staff. I highly recommend him.

5.0 of 5
February 7th, 2011
Best Doctor Ever
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It was hard when I moved here and didn't know anyone to ask who a good doctor was to go to. I took a chance not knowing Dr. Carlson and it was the best move I've ever made! He is caring, concerned, compassionate, and he listens to all you have to say. I would highly recommend him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2009
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and I have been patients of Dr.Carlson for many years.We trust him and rely on him to relay the diagnosis of either one of us to us or any other specialist he recommends.We feel very confident of him and or comfortable with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 19th, 2008
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
my husband and i have been seeing dr carlson for a few years now. we are both happy with how he has worked with us. i also have seen his nurse practioners and for the most part am happy with them also.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 4th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Loren Carlson, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Sarasota, FL.