The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Gerhardt Is this you?

Filter Reviews

31 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.9
  • 18
  • 3
  • 1
  • 5
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Easy Appointments
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Gerhardt?

Showing 12 of 31 Ratings

Highly recommend an excellent doctor

Posted on May 26th, 2017

Dr. Gerhardt is not the type of doctor that immediately wants to run everyone into surgery. He provides all the information about your condition and looks at every option before going to surgery. He is very informative and will answer questions and make sure you understand what is going to be done . As far as surgery, I cannot say enough about what he did for me.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Doctor!!!

Posted on July 16th, 2016

Great Dr and his staff was so friendly. He has a good sense of humor and is very through with you. He did surgery on my hand and I haven't had another problem with it. Great Dr!!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Surgeon

Posted on September 6th, 2012

I have had several surgeries with Dr. Gerhardt. He has worked on both of my kneew, and my left sholder. He has also seem my wife, daughter, and cousin. They all have had good experiencies with Dr. Gerhardt. He and his staff are the best, I have had put my trust and faith in them and they have always surpassed all of my expectations.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 26th, 2010

I have seen Dr Gerhardt twice for two different conditions. The first visit six years ago was positive and I was pleased with his accuracy in diagnosing my problem and the time he spent in evaluating my symptoms. I was very much disappointed, howver, with a recent visit to his office. Even before I went to the office, the staff at Orthopedic Specialists of Alabama called and rescheduled my appointment twice. In the process they somehow confused my name, problem, and history so that when I finally went in, the information in my chart was incorrect. After waiting in the room about 20 minutes to be seen, Dr Gerhardt's bedside manner was curt, hurried, and demonstrated an attitude of unconcern from the time he entered. He asked questions, then interrupted almost immediately when I began to answer. He answered my own questions sarcastically and made several offensive comments during the evaluation. He left the room without closure and the nurse ended up being more helpful than the doctor. Although I had recommended him before from my previous visit, I would definitely not recommend this doctor to anyone now.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two surgeries done well. No problems 2 years after

Posted on June 1st, 2010

He's up-to-date on surgical techniques. He has a dry sense of humor which could be off-putting to patients, especially when in pain. But as long as he does a proper job on me, in such a crucial area I would overlook the bedside manner.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent ortopedic surgeon.

Posted on March 13th, 2009

Dr. Gerhardt performed surgery on me and my wife. We were very impressed with him and his staff.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Oe of the worst Drs. I Have Ever Seen!

Posted on May 25th, 2008

Dr. Gerhardt made me feel like a charity sae even though I have insurance. I was kept waiting sometimes for as long as 3 hours. I feel that he over books his patients. He has the worst bedside manner that I have ever seen.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 4th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 15th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 11th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on August 10th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on August 10th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Gerhardt is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pelham, AL.