ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Peter Van Dyck Is this you?
  • 8
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
32.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Peter Van Dyck?


14 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 7th, 2013

The kindest most understanding psychiatrist I know

Dr. Van Dyck is the kindest, most understanding psychiatrist I have ever met. He accurately diagnosted me and has been patient and kind to me during this very difficult time in my life.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 25th, 2012

Needs Improvement

PROS -Spends adequate amount of time with me -Generally a nice person CONS -3 Words: LATE, LATE, LATE-Not committed to clients: too busy to give individualized care, forgets important details, repeatedly asks the same questions -Poor communication: bad at returning calls-Disorganized: poor time management, always sifts through my file because he never remembers anything about me -Stubborn

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 29th, 2011

Very Wise.. but, after all the years, not tolerant when I need him.. called it ridiculous and told me I was drunk.. ok.. and said he would have to charge me, ok.. well he quit taking my insurance, and I havent called late in a long time, but after all this time, I guess its time to move on. He is sharp, but only to a point tolerant...

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 2nd, 2011

There is always one or two people waiting to go ahead of me (because he's behind), which makes my wait longer. That can be frustrating; however, he more than makes up for being late 100% of the time by spending quality time with his patients. He makes sure to check in and talk about the situation. I've been to other healthcare professionals before and compared to the rest, Dr. van Dyck isn't intimidating. That is a breath of fresh air because many doctors can be snooty. Schedule your appointments during a time when you have plenty of free time that way the fact that he was late won't affect your other plans.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2011

Be careful

After being put on way too many medications by another psychiatrist, I saw Dr. Van Dyck. He not only continued to prescribe 9 psychiatric medications, he added more to my list. After becoming suicidal, I was told by an EMS worker that his son became suicidal after taking many psychiatric medications prescribed by Dr. Van Dyck. After stopping the medication, my suicidality stopped, and my life improved drastically, but this did not occur until I went to a different doctor. I think that Dr. Van Dyck is a smart man, but perhaps when something is more than he knows what to do with, he just tosses meds at the situation...

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 13th, 2009

This doctor is a listener and seems to understand

He will smile upon greeting you and ask you to sit down on his sofa. Then he will ask YOU what YOU need. What do YOU think and feel. Do YOU agree with his diagnosis? Friendly kind, understanding,more importantly smart.....real smart. This guy is a diamound in the rough.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 9th, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 8th, 2017

1.0 Rating

November 6th, 2015

5.0 Rating

March 19th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 27th, 2014

5.0 Rating

September 6th, 2012

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Peter Van Dyck is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Raleigh, NC.

  • Dr. David Bierman

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Raleigh, NC 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    31
  • Dr. Peter Buonaccorsi

    Dr. Peter Buonaccorsi

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Raleigh, NC 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    12
  • Dr. Charles Matthews

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Raleigh, NC 0.05 mi

    3.7
    (67)
    39