Dr. Philip Prioleau MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 1.1)

28 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    18%
  • Bad
    18%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I find it perplexing that this doctors’ only claim is that he does not do any cosmetic treatments (in a very broad definition of the term as he would not remove seborrhea keratosis that was bleeding). He calls himself “serious” dermatologist, and yet my “cosmetic’ dermatologist was the one who found and biopsied an early melanoma of my cheek that Prioelau missed during the prior visit 3 months earlier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 29th, 2016
long time patient
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
1 star is too much. This doctor was seeing my father for the past 15 years. He never bothered to biopsy a lesion on his leg, just kept freezing it every 6 months despite the fact that the spot grew and bled. My father required 5 hrs of MOHS surgery and a skin grafting. Final whole was 3 inches wide. That cancer was there for years! Avoid at all cost.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 27th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Prioleau is a consummate professional. Straight forward and informative. You know he is a serious doctor and are immediately confident in him. He handles skin lesions and does Mohs surgery. He is not a cosmetic dermatologist. His staff is efficient and professional as well. The wait to see him is for a good reason, he is one of the very best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 17th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Seems to be excellent physician, but wildly expensive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 26th, 2014
he missed my melanoma
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
this doctor self-proclaimed skin cancer specialist missed my melanoma. he told me that the spot on my leg was "nothing to worry about". it was stage 2 melanoma.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
July 31st, 2014
average at best
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Prioleau was highly recommended by my GP. I found him to be rushed, distant and indifferent to my skin complains. What kind of doctor tells his patient you don’t need to treat your pre cancer keratosis? Should I wait for them to grow into invasive cancers for him to recommend treatments? His practice of medicine does not make sense!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 21st, 2012
R
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent and professional. Very knowledgeable. It is a pleasure to have the benefit of his experience and calm demeanor. Inspires confidence with his diagnoses and treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2010
great doctor, kind staff, nice atmosphere in office
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Prioleau a number of times on a semi-emergency basis and my late father was also his patient. He is very competent in his diagnosis and he was very careful to make sure that we understood. His staff is also patient with questions and understanding about people traveling a distance to see him having time constraints. It is always a pleasure even if the reason to be there is medical, he is always a kind social gentleman.

5.0 of 5
March 18th, 2010
Well qualified and ceritfied in unusually diverse but quite complimentary practice areas.
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Knowledgable, able, old school style physician(he pays attention). He possesses rare combination of humility, expertise,knowledge,and is board certified in in surgery, dermatology, and pathology. I haven't often seen this combo. If I had a potential skin problem, I would want his opinion about it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 17th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
started going to see Dr. P in the mid 90's.... even though i moved away, once coming back, i will go no where else
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Prioleau is as caring as he is thorough and professional. Cannot be better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Philip Prioleau, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.