ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Philip Prioleau Is this you?
  • 14
  • 2
  • 3
  • 5
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Promptness
Wait Time
15.5 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Philip Prioleau?


29 Ratings with 12 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2016

I find it perplexing that this doctors’ only claim is that he does not do any cosmetic treatments (in a very broad definition of the term as he would not remove seborrhea keratosis that was bleeding). He calls himself “serious” dermatologist, and yet my “cosmetic’ dermatologist was the one who found and biopsied an early melanoma of my cheek that Prioelau missed during the prior visit 3 months earlier.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 29th, 2016

long time patient

1 star is too much. This doctor was seeing my father for the past 15 years. He never bothered to biopsy a lesion on his leg, just kept freezing it every 6 months despite the fact that the spot grew and bled. My father required 5 hrs of MOHS surgery and a skin grafting. Final whole was 3 inches wide. That cancer was there for years! Avoid at all cost.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 27th, 2015

Dr. Prioleau is a consummate professional. Straight forward and informative. You know he is a serious doctor and are immediately confident in him. He handles skin lesions and does Mohs surgery. He is not a cosmetic dermatologist. His staff is efficient and professional as well. The wait to see him is for a good reason, he is one of the very best.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

February 17th, 2015

Seems to be excellent physician, but wildly expensive.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 26th, 2014

he missed my melanoma

this doctor self-proclaimed skin cancer specialist missed my melanoma. he told me that the spot on my leg was "nothing to worry about". it was stage 2 melanoma.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 31st, 2014

average at best

Dr. Prioleau was highly recommended by my GP. I found him to be rushed, distant and indifferent to my skin complains. What kind of doctor tells his patient you don’t need to treat your pre cancer keratosis? Should I wait for them to grow into invasive cancers for him to recommend treatments? His practice of medicine does not make sense!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 21st, 2012

R
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2012

Excellent and professional. Very knowledgeable. It is a pleasure to have the benefit of his experience and calm demeanor. Inspires confidence with his diagnoses and treatment.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2010

great doctor, kind staff, nice atmosphere in office

I have seen Dr. Prioleau a number of times on a semi-emergency basis and my late father was also his patient. He is very competent in his diagnosis and he was very careful to make sure that we understood. His staff is also patient with questions and understanding about people traveling a distance to see him having time constraints. It is always a pleasure even if the reason to be there is medical, he is always a kind social gentleman.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 18th, 2010

Well qualified and ceritfied in unusually diverse but quite complimentary practice areas.

Knowledgable, able, old school style physician(he pays attention). He possesses rare combination of humility, expertise,knowledge,and is board certified in in surgery, dermatology, and pathology. I haven't often seen this combo. If I had a potential skin problem, I would want his opinion about it.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 17th, 2009

started going to see Dr. P in the mid 90's.... even though i moved away, once coming back, i will go no where else

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 16th, 2009

Dr. Prioleau is as caring as he is thorough and professional. Cannot be better.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Philip Prioleau is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Robert Buka

    Dermatology, Pediatrics

    New York, NY

    4.6
    (107)
    Accepts online appointments
  • Dr. Ellen Gendler

    Dermatology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.3
    (36)
    35
  • Dr. Marie Hayag

    Dr. Marie Hayag

    Dermatology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.3
    (4)
    16