Dr. Richard Swanson MD Patient Reviews

  • Medical Oncology Boston, MA

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 48 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.5)

48 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    67%
  • Great
    2%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    8%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 12.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
January 31st, 2017
overdid my surgery which has resulted in life long negative consequences including neurological damage and reduced range of motion
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 9th, 2016
Colon Cancer Surgery
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Swanson was totally professional in handling my colon cancer surgery and post operative treatment and follow-up. He instills confidence in his patients and communicates all risks involved. He is helpful in weighing options and is a top notch surgeon. His vast successful surgical experience makes him a "go to" surgeon!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 29th, 2016
Lifesaver
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saved my life in 2013 after another surgeon in a local hospital made a bad mistake. Dr. Swanson is a great man!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's remarkable. Spent time to draw all of my problems for me and my husband. After 7 he surgery spent time with my family explaining all details
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Swanson was wonderful. He followed up with me in the hospital after my surgery each day. The roommate in the hospital commented on how nice and attentive he was. The nurses also told me he is one of their favorites.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Wonderful thorough visit. Hopeful. Supportive. Informative. Cutting edge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Trustful, amazing surgeon and incredible person.

5.0 of 5
June 6th, 2013
great job
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I first talked to Dr. Swanson, I had concerns because the surgery was going to be somewhat difficult and he gave me all the bad things that could happen. This did not impress me but then I was reminded that Dr. Swanson did the surgery that no one else wanted to do. The results were fantastic. They sent me home cancer free. Dr. Swanson came in every day to check on me. I can't say enough about how happy I was with Dr. Swanson nor can I thank him enough. Oh BTW I asked about whether students operate and his reply was a very stern students do not operate on patients

5.0 of 5
January 31st, 2013
A great surgeon and compassionate man.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 28th, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Takes care of patient and is considerate of family. Takes time to visit the patient every day or lets patient who will be available. Give detailed explanations of what to expect and what the parameters of treatment are. Excellent, ethical, talented clinician. Recommend him highly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 11th, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I read a review of Dr. Swanson saying a lotof negative things. I found Dr. Swanson to be very caring and informative. I would have preferred that he just tell me, yes, I can remove that tumor and it will be like you never had it, but he didn't. He was honest in saying it would be a very difficult surgery and that I should try chemo first. He was very candid yet upbeat about my prognosis. I would strongly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2011
outstanding
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My overall experience with Dr. Swansen has been outstanding. He has a wonderful bedside manner and is most professional.He spent as much time as we needed with him and was very thourough. I would HIGHLY recommend Dr. Swansen!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Richard Swanson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Boston, MA.