Dr. Stephen Murphy MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Roxbury Crossing, MA

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 89 patient ratings
  • 24 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.3)

89 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    73%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    1%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    9%
  • Wait Time 29.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 19th, 2017
God flows into his hands during surgery
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Murphy is by far an amazing surgeon. He replaced my Hip using his own minimally invasive technique with instruments he designed and has patents on. It was so incredible the night of my surgery for dinner I was up enjoying a delicious dish of pasta I went home the next morning and never had a pain. Truly a remarkable experience. When this surgeon goes into that operating room I swear God must flow into his hands head and heart. I'd had a previous hip replacement that was a nightmare performed with regular surgery. I cannot give higher recommendation for Dr Murphy. His bedside manner and love of what he does and how he helps people is just incredible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2017
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have had 2 hips replaced by Dr. Murphy. There is no one that could be better. Up and down the stairs in 3 days.......1 crutch after a week.......no crutches after the 2nd week. PT nurses were amazed when they came to see me.....I was so comfortable walking and moving around. You have to wait at least 6 months for an appt. so don't dally.. The wait is worth it ....can't say enough wonderful things about Dr. Murphy and office manager Lisa!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2017
Excellent consultation
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Professional, courteous and easy to speak with, very clear in describing procedure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 13th, 2016
Magnificent painless experuence
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
An incredible surgeon. I had my hip replaced by him and it was done minimally Invasive method. It was amazing. As my first hip replacement was a nightmare. Dr Murphys method. I never had one pain afterwards I went home next day n was able to care for myself as I live alone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 25th, 2016
Best Orthopedic Doctor in Boston
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a hip replacement 18 years ago so I think his office made a special effort to get me in quickly and I was able to have total knee replacement surgery in less than a month because a cancellation came up. The swelling is minimal and I can bend the knee well in less than a week. New England Baptist is a great hospital as well with a super team of nurses and physical therapists. Murphy might well be the very best in Boston.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 11th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Murphy is a Master at his Computer generated surgery. My knee replacement surgery was a breeze. He is a great doctor. There is no waiting, when you arrive for your appointment. He greets you at the door. He is waiting for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The very best at hip replacements, mine was done 18 years ago and is still doing well. He makes himself available and is extremely reliable,
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Good Surgeon. I'll go back if I need another one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience with Dr. Murphy has been commendable. He has performed two hip replacements for me and both have been successful. I was able to go directly home after both surgeries, and my recovery was quick and uneventful after both surgeries. I have recommended Dr. Murphy to many people, all of whom have been extremely satisfied, and I know others who have had surgery elsewhere and not been satisfied. Thank you, Dr.Murphy.

5.0 of 5
November 16th, 2015
I would recommend no one else but Dr. Murphy
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There is NO ONE else I would ever trust replacing my hip over Dr. Stephen Murphy. When people hear about my surgery and recovery they are astonished compared to what they went through with a different doctor. My scar is the size of 3 quarters. I had no precautions and was back to work in 7 days. It is difficult to get an appointment and that speaks volumes to how good he is. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2015
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Made very little eye contact with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 7th, 2015
Not Impressed
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Murphy evaluated me for a hip replacement. His manner was extremely cold. I felt like a hip and not a person during the visit. Surprisingly, I listened as he instructed the office manager to book the surgery with him: I had clearly told Dr. Murphy that I was also evaluating another surgeon in Boston before deciding who I wanted to perform the operation. He wasn't listening! MY husband and I are medical professionals and were not impressed by the fancy claims of computer assisted hip replacement. I ended up having my hip replaced by Dr. Dennis Burke at Mass General. He was superb. I feel like a new person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Stephen Murphy, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Roxbury Crossing, MA.