Dr. Terry Madsen MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Richardson, TX

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 72 patient ratings
  • 32 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.4)

32 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    51%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    35%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Wait Time 23.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 10th, 2016
Friendly Staff
I called the office about an appointment and was hung up on twice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 17th, 2016
Awful dr Stsy out of the bars
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He look liked he had been partying all night long
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2016
The best!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I could not have been more pleased with all aspects of my shoulder surgery and recovery. Dr. Madsen and staff were pros from every perspective. 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 28th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the worst doctors I have ever seen. Terrible bedside manner! Beware!! Rushed through everything and did not take the time to answer questions. Something he is not passionate about he was like a robot. Please avoid!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 15th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Simply the worst follow-up of any medical professional I have ever seen. I requested a copy of my visits and have been waiting three weeks for them to even call or respond to this simple request. Unfortunately, however, this is just the straw that broke the camels back. I have had a horrible experience with the offices' unwilling to follow-up on everything. I should have know there was going to be trouble after Dr Madsen did not return an emergency call until three days later. Then for a year now, if you need something, don't leave a message because your call will not be returned. You have to go in and face the staff in order to get what you need.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 18th, 2014
A Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Madsen is a typical surgeon. He WANTS to operate. He will treat people with chronic conditions but essentially he wants to treat people who he can operate on. The man is a good surgeon and had mostly good results. He has times when he seems rushed and other times when he seems like he has all the time in the world to spend with you; I think it just depends on what kind of day he is having. His office staff seems very nice but they do seem busy and maybe a bit over worked. One girl was severely pregnant and working so I assume they are probably severely understaffed. Melanie at the front desk was helpful, as was the woman Gwen who checked me out. The girls in back were helpful though I don't recall the names of them all. I do have to say the previous office manager who worked there and did my x-rays was a sweetheart, though I understand she's been replaced. That's too bad though. All in all, Dr. Madsen is a good surgeon and his office is typical of a doc who sees a lot of people. AND my knee feels pretty good after everything too, so that's a plus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2014
Greatest staff around.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thank God he has a new lady up front, not only does she speak English, she also makes a point to return my calls, I wish I could say the nurses in back cared as much. They run me through and never seem to take the time and actually hear how I'm progressing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 30th, 2014
AVOID THIS DOCTOR!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very SKETCHY doctor. I had issues with both my knees. I was suffering severe pain when standing up, so I thought that I should see a orthopedic to check it out. The first thing I noticed is the unprofessionalism of front staff and subtly rude medical assistant. And that not even the best part: Dr. Madsen just glanced at my knee, felt around it, and then concluded that he can do surgery on it. Point, blank, period. I asked if he wants to do an MRI/X-ray first to make sure, and he told me that he's sure. How can ANY doctor, no matter the years of experience just look at a knee, feel it and plans for surgery? Sketchy, much? I'm so glad I got a second opinion. When it comes to surgery, it's serious business - not monkey business. I don't know what kind of doctor's office he is running. Insurance: Blue Cross / Blue Shield
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2014
Hip repair
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After patiently waiting only 5 minutes Dr. Madsen's staff promptly led me to my room. The young ladies were extremely nice and friendly. Dr. Madsen entered into my room shortly after getting their. He was not only a great doctor but he was also enjoyable to talk to and took the time to answer all of my questions himself. After an excellent surgery I continue to do physical therapy and look forward to my follow up visit!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2014
Excellent experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After being a patient of Dr. Madsen's a few years ago I recently returned to his office to get my hip looked at. Wow! His new office looks amazing, the staff were friendlier than ever, and it was great seeing Dr. Madsen again! He is hands down the best Orthopedic surgeon in the metroplex!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2014
Excellent experience
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After breaking my arm a family friend recommended Dr. Madsen to me, and I'm very glad they did. The wait time was reasonable for your average doctors office, the staff was very friendly and polite, and Dr. Madsen did an amazing job. I felt that he spent lots of one on one time with me and answered all of my questions thoroughly. I will be getting my cast off within the next month and look forward to returning for another visit. Would recommend him to anyone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 16th, 2014
Broken bones
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thanks to Dr Madsen, my broken bone healed well and quite fast. It was easy and fast to set an appointment, front desk and nurses or assistants were all friendly, competent and professional. Dr Madsen was obviously busy but the time he needed for my appointment did not feel rushed. I'm glad I don't have any more visits but if I ever break a bone again, I will know where to call.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Terry Madsen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Richardson, TX.

Doctor

Dr. John Wey

25 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Duc Vo

22 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Diane Litke

26 years experience

3.8 of 5