Dr. Wayne Alani MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.1
  • 53 patient ratings
  • 27 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 0.2)

27 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    62%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    9%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 18.9 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
September 1st, 2016
Too busy to figure out real problem
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I returned for post op exam the assistant asked me "what are you here for". Please read my chart I had an MRI and he didn't ask for the films for almost 4 wks after Doesn't touch base to let you know what's going on and does t tell options I truly feel he is too busy to care what my issues are. He guesses at what it is without truly exploring I don't want to take away he might be a great surgeon but if you want information or someone to dig deeper into your problem you a The on your own. By the way I am the one who requested my MRI not dr Alani
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2015
Knee problem
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is great, lessons carefully with a big smile and then explains everything to me in a simple language not like some doctors who think they are talking with doctors not normal people :P I visited then another doctor as a second opinion and he confirmed what Dr. Alani said
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 31st, 2015
GET SECOND OPINION
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alani did minimal amount of review on my knee and was hurried. In a matter of seconds was already talking about surgery without options. His assumption was totally incorrect and only because of how abruptly he brought up the need for surgery was I questioning his diagnosis. I got second opinion and had totally different procedure reviewing my knee with lots of attention and testing of movement. I was advised absolutely NOT a candidate for surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2013
A very good docutor but getting appointment is difficult
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A very good Orthopedic surgeon and Doctor- operated upon my mother's both arms after she had fractured them in two separate occasions. Both the surgeries were major but there were no complications whatsoever since she was operated (13 years ago). The issues I face with his office is getting an appointment for check ups- I have a tennis elbow problem and my right arm pains- when asking for appointment I was told to come after a week. The reception staff whoever picks up the phones are insensitive- not even ready to listen the problem the consultation is sought for. Result- either I have to go to emergency room or look for another doctor, reluctantly. Summary- a very good doctor with unprofessional and insensitive staff in front office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2013
shoulder pain
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i saw dr alani for my shoulder and he did a cortisone shot with excellent results. The previous review is not true at all. He explained everything to me and did not recommend surge, Look at the other reviews. I hate to read things that are not true about a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 14th, 2012
Friendly Staff
I had been a patient of Dr. Alani for about 15 years whenever I needed a specialist and I had no complaints about him. However, from 2006 to 2010 he operated on my hands, one wrist, both Achilles, one ankle and one knee 3 different times. I now know that at least 2 of these could have been lessened by proper treatment. Most people go to him for one reason and don't have a problem. I kept having to go back and eventually a prominent member of his staff who seems to run everything was inexcusably rude, disrespectful and lied to me on several occasions. No doctor should allow this to happen. I would never go back to him. I have since seen doctors whom I can trust and their staff members are friendly, courteous and helpful. There are too many good doctors in Houston for a patient to have to put up with this treatment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 27th, 2012
Warning: get a second opinion every time
Wait time
30 minutes
I had shoulder pain when I went to see Dr. Alani first. He said that a bone spur was tearing up the ligament and that soon I would have a frozen shoulder unless he operated on it. So I went to another orthopedist to get a second opinion. This doctor said, no surgery necessary, the bone spur is probably not at fault and PT would take care of the problem. He was right -- the shoulder got better by conservative treatment.Later I had pain in my other shoulder and went to see Dr. Alani again. He told me... the exact same thing, including the bit about the bone spur, in the same words. And again I went to see someone else and he told me there's no need for immediate surgery. Dr. Alani even refused to give me a cortisone shot to relieve my pain, which the other dr did right away.I hate to think that I might have gone under the knife for no reason other than filling Dr. Alani's pocket if I didn't think of seeking a second opinion. People -- when Dr. Alani recommends surgery to you, please be smart and see someone else to confirm. I wonder if anybody has ever sued this guy for malpractice, what he does is so brazen and wrong. Please, PLEASE get a second opinion before trusting him to cut you up! I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2012
john
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is the best Doctor I have been to. He was excellent and explained everything about hip replacement in detail. I had the surgery and can do everything I want! Thanks Doc
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 18th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The staff was very good. Dr Alani fixed my fractured wrist and I have full function back. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 27th, 2011
Verilast hip replacement
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
From going to so many consultations, I discovered that not many surgeons offer the verilast, it lasts longer than most hip replacements and causes less friction with existing bones. Dr. Alani and his staff took care of my needs and were all very caring. I feel like I took a total 360 in my condition. I'm taking it day by day but so far, they have all been good one. No more hip pain just getting useed to the good days now!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2011
slt
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
this is a very good doctor that fixed my tennis elbow with a simple out patient procedure. I had almost no rehab and feel 100%.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2011
John l
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had the platelet injection by Dr Alani and it worked great. I avoided a total hip replacement thanks to Dr Alani! He's great!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Wayne Alani, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Houston, TX.

Doctor

Dr. William Harvin

9 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Derek L Jones

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Ryan Taylor

6 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor