The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. J Atwell Is this you?

Filter Reviews

49 Ratings • 14 Comments

4.0
  • 30
  • 4
  • 5
  • 2
  • 8

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. J Atwell?

Showing 12 of 49 Ratings

Great Guy!

Posted on October 28th, 2016

Very professional and a nice guy, too. A rare combination.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 6th, 2016

Wonderful careing Doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 28th, 2016

Awesome doctor! Very caring, smart and does what is best for the patient, not for him. Thank you for being there for me!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 15th, 2016

waiting time depends on time of day, and if you are a work-in. Dr. Atwell spends as much time with a patient as needed, so sometimes the time runs over; however...you get your quality time and I have never felt slighted.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

not satisfied

Posted on September 12th, 2015

He is always in hurry, doesn't like to be questioned , his office always misplaces urine sample to be sent to the lab so I have to go there twice, not good doctor for kidney stones problems.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 23rd, 2015

A terrific doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 4th, 2014

I have been seeing Dr Atwell for years now. He is such a kind and compassionate old fashioned doctor. He spends time in the room with you, not staring at his computer. He is a conservative doctor, only doing what he feels his patients need and can tolerate. You won't find many like him. Thank God I found him!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Atwell saved my life

Posted on July 9th, 2013

When I went to the ER on Thursday, I was lucky enough to find Dr. Atwell on duty. My 'swollen' area quickly become full-blown necrotizing faciitis a.k.a. flesh-eating disease. After quick attention and surgery by Dr. Atwell and 2 days in a hyperbaric chamber, supervised by Dr. Atwell, I was flown by helicopter to Orlando Regional Medical Center. I spent more than 4 weeks in I.C.U. and underwent 30 procedures that required full anesthesia. I am now completely healed and healthy. All the doctors in Orlando agreed that I only had had a 20% chance of survival and recovery when I'd arrived in Orlando (only a 30-minute flight). The long and short of the story is that Dr. Atwell saved my life. I should never have survived the first 3 days and medical personnel have agreed. He was instrumental in getting my Workman's Compensation in Ontario, Canada to pay for all medical costs and that was a Godsend. He even followed up with me after I'd returned to my hometown upon release from the hospital. Any recognition, accolades, awards that Dr. Atwell receives are well deserved.

Wait time
5 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

always in a hurry

Posted on April 26th, 2013

Nice person, friendly, but always rushing through the chart, didn't take time to read CT itself and only went by written report. Totally missed the real problem which turned out to be serious.. The bottom line is that he is always in a hurry to get to the next patient.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awful bedside manners

Posted on September 21st, 2012

I take my client to see him..he NEVER even acknowledge her. Grabs her chart and in less than a minute was out the door. NEVER ask her what her problems were, only goes by what the nurse writes in her chart. He needs to learn bedside manners and empathy.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

see a different doctor

Posted on April 3rd, 2012

if your looking for an Urologistkeep on looking there are much better ones out there

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

not as good as i thought

Posted on March 13th, 2012

has a problem with the truth, misinforms,and is very self centered....only hears what he wants to hear,,its a shame because is is a nice person,,,but so is my neighbor,,

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. J Atwell is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Vero Beach, FL.