Dr. Paul Magtibay MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.4
  • 28 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

1.7 (-2.7)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    79%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 8.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
October 27th, 2016
Talk more about the consequences of surgery and be honest
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Magtibay performed my hysterectomy in 2010 for a very early stage endometrial cancer. I have had no issues with surgery itself and am glad I went with the Da Vinci method, however, a lot of issues with the lack of estrogen resulting from the surgery. I feel the effects and consequences of the surgery were not honestly discussed. I was told it would not affect my sex life which was simply not true.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 21st, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Haven't had a f/u visit yet. Very patient, calm demeanor. Listened, answered my questions, appeared confident, not arrogant. Very nice person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 17th, 2015
Top doctor!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Magtibay performed an elective removal of my ovaries and tubes to reduce my risk of ovarian cancer over 50%! He was prompt, extremely thorough, and very communicative about everything. I am post op 2 days now and have heard personally from him both days! I am thrilled with Dr. Magtibay and MAYO Clinic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 5th, 2015
Great Surgeon!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Magtibay was great from my initial consult to post-op. I had a uterine tumor removed which required a hospital stay. He explained everything when I first went in, told me the different options for surgery and what my best choice was. He showed me on my scan where exactly the tumor was and what he would do to remove it, along with the risks involved. The surgery itself went great. I woke up about 4 hours later, taken to my room, and he came up around dinner time to check in and go over everything. I had a very tiny amount of spotting which went away after 3 days; typically it's normal bleeding for up to 10 days after surgery. Minimal scarring as well. He clearly knows what he is doing and is humble about it. Even though he's published over 150 articles, he never seemed to let pride get in the way. A month after surgery, I went back in with pain that ended up being unrelated. He took me in as a same-day emergency appointment and stayed on board throughout all my tests. He and his colleague, Dr. Nora Bassiouni, worked together to help me in that experience as well. Great doctors, both of them. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2013
Compassion and caring
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Magtibay for the past two years. He performed surgery on me and I have visited him for follow up visits. His manner with patients is amazing. He really cares and takes the time with you. He has a very calming and gentle bedside manner. It is so refreshing to visit a physician who makes you feel like more than "just a number."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 20th, 2013
Consummate Professional who Genuinely Cares about his patients
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It is remarkable how well Dr. Magtibay listens to a patient. His bedside manner is exceptional. He is clearly brilliant in his areas of expertise. I was so confident in his ability and team that I had very little anxiety going into surgery. Dr. Magtibay called me a few days post-op to offer support and reassurance which was very valuable. I had no bleeding at all which is normally expected. I healed well with little scaring in six weeks. I have very high expectations and Dr. Magtibay is the only surgeon who has exceeded them. He sets an excellent tone for the entire department. I highly recommend him as his humble demeanor allows him to see clearly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 8th, 2012
Dr. Paul Magitbay
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I highly recommend Dr. Magtibay for gynecology specialty. He is my gyno oncologist. I have never met a doctor who is more humble, kind and compassionate. He was extremely knowledgeable with a great bedside manner while I was hospitalized. He spent time to explain all of the medical terms that I did not understand and gave me plenty of time to ask questions. In my opinion you could not find a better gynecological doctor in Arizona. I have high regard for him as a family man and husband. There is hands down no other gynecologist I would see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 6th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I feel I am in very good hands with Dr. Magtibay. He is very professinal, kind and caring. He explains what I ask him and he is a wonderful doctor. He is a very kind and caring person and is very knowledgeable in his field. I would not want any other doctor!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2010
Caring & competent
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Magtibay was thorough with my examinations, my surgery, & spent the time to listen to my concerns & answer many questions. He knew I was afraid & did a good job in presenting all the facts & alternative options in an understanding way. The staff of RN's, PA's, dept. Secretaries, & hospital support were A-1. Dr Magtibay is highly qualified in his field; you will be well cared for!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2010
Negligent Doctor With Disciplinary Action
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
doctor failed to refill prescription for cancer medication despite repeated calls to his staffdoctor refused to do a hysterectomy after cancer diagnosis had to go elsewhere to an excellent doctor in the Scottsdale areadoctor never even called back after complaint was lodged against himdoctor has prior disciplinary actions from state medical review board
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 23rd, 2009
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent surgeon and wonderful person. I was diagnosed with Stage IV ovarian cancer and I owe him my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2009
Great doc
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Highly recommend Dr. Magtibay. Not only is he caring, he is highly skilled and did a great job performing my surgery (laparascopy.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paul Magtibay, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Phoenix, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Cornella

34 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Javier Magrina

43 years experience

4.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Beatriz Stamps

32 years experience

3.3 of 5