The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Hal S Pineless Is this you?

About Dr. Hal S Pineless

Dr. Hal S Pineless, DO is a Doctor primarily located in Winter Park, FL. He has 37 years of experience. His specialties include Neurology and Psychiatry. Dr. Pineless is affiliated with Orlando Regional Medical Center and Orlando Regional South Seminole Hospital. He speaks English.

Rating Overview

41 Ratings with 24 Comments

The overall average patient rating of Dr. Hal S Pineless is Good. Dr. Hal S Pineless has been rated by 41 patients. From those 41 patients 24 of those left a comment along with their rating. The overall rating for Dr. Hal S Pineless is 2.5 of 5.0 stars.

Mapbox Map of Dr. Hal S Pineless

Primary Address

Neurocare Institute Central Fl

1890 State Road 436 Ste 255
Winter Park, FL 32792
Get Directions

Specialties

Dr. Hal S Pineless has the following 2 specialties

  • Neurology

    A neurologist is a physician who diagnoses and treats disorders of the nervous system which is comprised of the brain, spinal cord and nerves. These doctors do not perform surgery, but refer patients to neurological surgeons when they determine that surgical intervention is necessary.
    Some of the conditions that neurologists diagnose and treat are epilepsy, aneurysms, hydrocephalus, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, stroke, spinal disc herniation, and spinal disease.
    In addition to using diagnostic tests like MRI, CT scans, EEG and EMG, neurologists also employ neurological testing to gauge muscle strength and movement, balance, reflexes, sensation, memory, speech, and other cognitive abilities.

  • Psychiatry

    A psychiatrist is a doctor with specific training in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness.
    He or she can not only provide the counseling necessary to both diagnose and treat a patient, but can also prescribe medication when needed. In some cases, a psychiatrist will only provide the medication and the counseling will be provided by another healthcare specialist, like a certified counselor or psychologist.
    Like other doctors, psychiatrists employ diagnostic tools like CT scans and MRI in order to observe the structure and function of a patient's brain.
    Once a diagnosis is made, these specialists may use behavior or cognitive therapy in order to address the patient's condition, or a multitude of other types of therapy, in conjunction with or in place of medication.

  • Specialty Expertise

    Dr. Hal S Pineless has the following 10 expertise

  • Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
  • Headache
  • Nerve Conduction Studies
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Electromyography
  • Sleep Disorders
  • Stroke
  • Primary Headache Disorders
  • Epilepsy
  • Migraine Disorder

Dr. Hal S Pineless has 0 board certified specialties

See the board certifications this doctor has received. Board certifications provide confidence that this doctor meets the nationally recognized standards for education, knowledge and experience

Reviews

Showing 5 of 41

Five Stars

First class operation!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Greatest Neurologist

I had a hard time accepting my diagnosis of epilepsy at 1st and Dr pineless was wonderful with me over years we built a great relationship and he became one of my favorite doctors that I will refer many too. He saved my life!

Doctor's Response

On behalf of our entire staff we are honored to be providing medical care for you. Thank you for taking the time to review our practice, and for the referrals. We wish you a long lifetime of good health Sincerely, Edy Rudnick Practice Manager

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Misdiagnosed! Waste of time and money!

I wish I'd read some reviews before I went to this appointment. I saw Dr. Pineless due to muscle pain and headaches I'd been having. After an exam, he told me that I was overweight and the "poster child for sleep apnea". I have no symptoms of that condition at all. He recommended a sleep study and a type of physical therapy. The physical therapy he sent me to was at a place where no one called me back or answered calls. I never got to go. When I told Dr. Pineless about some tests my last neurologist recommended I do to rule out a rheumatological disorder, he told me not to waste my time. Glad I didn't listen, as it turns out I was later diagnosed with lupus and fibromyalgia. So much for sleep apnea.

Doctor's Response

Dear Patient, I reviewed your chart after reading your review. I see that this is a complicated matter that bears further discussion, however, due to HIPAA privacy laws this is not the proper forum in which to discuss your concerns. All I can do here is wish you the best of health. Sincerely, Edy Rudnick Practice Manager

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Two Stars

The office is well run in that there is little wait time, a major plus. However, it is not always easy to reach someone, especially in the afternoon, which is tough if you have terrible nerve pain and need a response. The dr. keeps his head buried in his laptop during the visit so much is missed. Every single prescription ordered through this office was messed up. Towards the end, I started checking the bottles and they were ordered by his PA, who I never saw. The dr. changed my anti-convulsants and sent me into a terrible withdrawal as he brought me down too quickly. Couple that with the difficulty of reaching the office staff and I was in misery for 10 days.

Doctor's Response

Dear Patient, I am sorry to hear that you had the discomfort that you had. I don't know who you are, or if you are a man or a woman, but the first time I have heard that you had an issue is when I read it on this website. Please feel free to contact me any time, because, in addition to our doctor and PA, it is my job to make sure that our patients have their needs met. I believe you when you say that the doctor had his head buried in his iPad when seeing you. There are a plethora of new government requirements called "Meaningful Use" (you may Google it) that it is now mandatory for all healthcare professionals to fill out. Meaningful Use is supposed to improve quality, safety, efficiency, and reduce health disparities, but in fact, it requires the practitioner to pay attention to the electronic chart as much as the patient. We, ourselves, have mixed feelings about the process and hope that it ultimately improves patient care. Yes, it is our PA's job to order prescriptions. He is board certified and has been with us for 13 years. That is simply a workflow issue, but please know that the doctor has access to and verifies every element of our patient's care. Since we work on an appointment schedule as most doctors do, we return calls to our patients after hours, unless we have a cancellation and have a chance to call back during business hours. If there is an emergency, of course, we address it immediately. If we had known that we had a patient in pain it would have been addressed. I am sorry for your concerns. I wish that you had called me so that I could help you. I wish you the very best of health. Sincerely, Edy Rudnick Practice Manager

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Horrible, inconsiderate staff

I meant to write this comment over 3 years ago when I was a patient there and suffering from trigeminal neuralgia. I went to their office one day in severe pain, this after trying to contact Dr. Pineless the day before but to no avail. I've made phone calls to the staff prior to even going to their office telling them that I needed a new prescription because the old one wasn't working anymore. When I arrived, they immediately told me that I cannot wait inside their office and should just wait for the PA to call me since Dr Pineless was not around that time. So I told them that I'll save the PA a phone call because he can just give the new prescription to me personally and I was willing to walt however long it takes as I was in agony. I can still vividly remember approaching the receptionist, obviously in severe pain, but she just dismissed me and even giggled. I wished at that time she could have felt a sample of the pain I was going through so maybe she couldve been a little bit more compassionate. Thank God I found another neurolist with a more humane staff. I'm now pain free thanks to surgery, but I will never recommend this office to anyone based on the wait I was treated there.

Doctor's Response

I am Edy Rudnick, Practice Manager of this neurology office. I am sorry that you feel that you had a bad experience with Dr. Pineless. I don’t know who you are or what your condition may be. I was never notified that there was a problem with a patient. The first I heard of your concerns is when you wrote a negative review on this website, and unfortunately, according to your review, it was three years after the time you wrote on the internet about your pain. Dr. Pineless is a respected neurologist in our community. He has received many awards including Physician of the Year numerous times by a local hospital and is one of Orlando Magazine’s Top Doctors. If you wish to discuss this matter I would be happy to speak with you. I can be reached at 407-657-7900.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Hospital Affiliations

    Dr. Pineless is affiliated (can practice and admit patients) with the following hospital(s).

  • Education

    37 Years Experience

  • Chicago College Of Osteopathic Medicine

    Graduated in 1981

  • Loyola University Medical Center

    Residency

  • Accepted Insurance

    Dr. Hal S Pineless accepts the following insurance providers.

  • Aetna
    • Aetna Choice POS II
    • Aetna HMO
    • Aetna Managed Choice POS Open Access
    • Aetna Signature Administrators PPO
  • AvMed Health
    • AvMed Empower
    • Avmed Choice
  • BCBS Blue Card
    • BCBS Blue Card PPO
  • BCBS Florida
    • BCBS Florida myBlue
    • Florida Blue BlueCare HMO
    • Florida Blue BlueOptions
  • Cigna
    • CIGNA HMO
    • CIGNA Open Access Plus
    • CIGNA PPO
  • Coventry Health Care
    • Coventry FL Employer Group PPO
  • First Health
    • First Health PPO
  • Humana
    • Humana HMO
  • Multiplan
    • Multiplan PPO
  • United Healthcare
    • UHC Choice Plus POS
    • UHC Navigate HMO
    • UHC Navigate POS
    • UHC Options PPO

Locations & Directions

Neurocare Institute Central Fl, 1890 State Road 436 Ste 255, Winter Park, FL

Video

Take a minute to learn about Dr. Hal S Pineless in this video.

  • Similiar Doctors

    Dr. Hal S Pineless is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Winter Park, FL.