Dr. Kathleen Murphy MD Patient Reviews

  • Urology Summit, NJ

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 1.1)

37 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    38%
  • Great
    19%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    32%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 49.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
September 8th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
always late for appointments
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 25th, 2015
Mom of 3
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I meet with the DR. she told me I did not have a problem and was to young for surgery anyway I should wait until it gets worse. Thought she was right and maybe I was just wrong but after a year I went to see a Urogynecology specialist he asked me how I was walking around everyday, stage 3 pelvic organ prolapse. She was just way off!!! She did not examine me correctly to see it. I thought going to a woman would be better, she blew me off quicker than any male DR.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 20th, 2015
Do Not Go to Urologist Kathleen Murphy
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She will make you wait hours and will make you come to extra appointments, but never give you a clear diagnose you or tell you the problem. I would wait and hour and half to 2 hours for the appointment, get put in a room for another half hour, and then receive minimal care. She performed a very painful procedure on me without giving me any prior information on it or the necessary pain medication. She signed the form approving the procedure and never gave it to me to sign or the background information paper. I went to another urologist and they helped fix me up in 3 visits, whereas at her office she kept trying to get to to pay for procedures I did not need, after 6 visits I didn't even have any prognosis and was getting worse. When I asked my new urologist about the procedures Ms. Murphy wanted me to have she said she has no idea why Ms. Murphy would do those procedures that they were unnecessary. She also tried to put me on a very limiting diet that turned out to have nothing to do with my condition, she just wanted to make it seem like she was giving me medical attention so I would come back again. She's the worst most uncaring physician I have ever been to. You're literally in better hands any where else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 28th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw another urologist for 6 years without a diagnosis. 2 visits and a series of tests I finally had answers thanks to her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 1st, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After reading some of the reviews, I felt compelled to add my review. Dr. Murphy is a good doctor and very comfortable to be around. Her diagnosis and treatment are on point, easy to follow, and thorough. Wait time is horrible. i call before my appointments to find out how back logged they are and adjust my arrival time accordingly. I have found this typical of any specialist. The receptionist at the Westfield office could use a lesson in professionalism or get out of the medical field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 17th, 2013
Extreme rudeness at Westfield office.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was treated extremely rude by the receptionist at the Westfield office today....I waited over an hour for an adjustment to my bladder stimulator...only to find that the person who was to adjust the device was never told I was waiting in the office. I had asked the receptionist twice how much longer I would have to wait and was given no answer. I even told her I would have to leave soon and she shrugged her shoulder at me. How can such an uncaring person be allowed to work in the office??
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 27th, 2012
Good once you make it to the inner sanctum!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After waiting 75 mi uses on first visit dr. Murphy was very nice and took her time with me. Second visit I brought a book with me and waited 60 minutes. Just wish the reception area had more comfy chairs!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 11th, 2012
former patient
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr and staff was constantly too busy for any of my needs. Simple transfer of medical records took 4 phone calls. No bedside manner. Apparently if you have google there is no need to go to the doctor - as dr murphy told me to "google" my diagnosis. bad -

5.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Murphy is a warm and caring physician with a wonderful bedside manner. She is thorough in collecting data about the patient, and she is an excellent diagnostician. My only criticism is that the time in the waiting room is just too long.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
The office wait time is more than 1 hour. The staff is rude. I went for a test and was never told beforehand how invasive the procedure would be. This was done in her office. The staff told me to drink water when I got there and never told me where to get the water. Dr Murphy did the test and didn't warn me what to expect as she was doing it. I left feeling physically terrible and had to go right to work. If I were forewarned, I would have taken the rest of the day off from work. Unfortunately,I wasn't able to get the time off at such short notice. My next scheduled office visit, the staff called and cancelled my appointment. They rescheduled me and then I had to cancel the next appointment. The staff informed me that Dr. Murphy charges a cancellation fee of $50.00 unless you give 24 hour notice. I told them that if their answering service had answered the phone, I would have given 24 hours notice. I also told them that when Dr. Murphy has me waiting 2 hours, I am going to charge her for my time.I have never experienced such a horrible medical practice. i highly recommend that you stay away!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 14th, 2011
Great doctor
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The only problem with seeing her is waiting in the office to see her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 15th, 2011
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She saved my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Kathleen Murphy, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Summit, NJ.